Graduate School and Research Center In communication systems

Xiaohu WU

Xiaohu WU
Xiaohu WU
Eurecom - Digital Security 
Doctoral student ( 2012 - 2016)
Alumni EURECOM

Thesis

Techniques for scheduling and pricing in cloud computing

Responsible(s)

 

Cloud computing has become the main paradigm for computing, storage and many other applications. The design of appropriate scheduling and pricing schemes for computing resource is therefore of great importance for cloud providers to increase the quality of service or maximize their revenue.

 

Due to the ubiquity of batch data processing in cloud computing, we consider a fundamental model in which a set of batch tasks is to be scheduled on multiple identical machines and each task is specified by a value, a workload, a deadline and a parallelism bound. Within the parallelism bound, the number of machines allocated to a task can vary over time without affecting its workload. For this model, we obtain two core results: a quantitative characterization of a sufficient and necessary condition such that a set of malleable batch tasks with deadlines can be scheduled on the multiple machines, and a polynomial-time algorithm to produce such a feasible schedule. These core results provide a conceptual tool and an optimal scheduling algorithm that enable proposing new analyses and designs of algorithms and improving existing algorithms for extensive scheduling objectives.

We also provide new results for monotonic moldable tasks, for which the total workload increases when parallelizing a job.

 

On the other hand, given the main pricing models such as the one in Amazon EC2, we propose an extended online learning framework for tenants to decide on which type of instance to purchase and utilize between on-demand, spot, and long-term instances (e.g., reserved instances or instances that an organization itself possesses), in order to minimize their cost.

Ecole d'ingénieur et centre de recherche en télécommunications

Xiaohu WU

Xiaohu WU
Xiaohu WU
Eurecom - Sécurité numérique 
Doctorant ( 2012 - 2016)
Alumni EURECOM

Thèse

Techniques d'ordonnancement et de tarification dans le Cloud Computing

Responsable(s)

Le cloud est devenu le principal paradigme pour le calcul, le stockage de données, etc. Le design de mécanismes d'ordonnancement et de tarification des ressources est donc d'une importance primordiale pour les fournisseurs de services cloud dans le but d'améliorer leur qualité de service et leurs revenus. 

 

Nous considérons un modèle fondamental où un ensemble de tâches "batch" doivent être ordonnancées sur plusieurs machines identiques et chaque tâche est définie par une valeur, un quantité totale de travail, une date limite et une borne de parallélisme. Le nombre de machines allouées à une tâche peut varier au cours de l'exécution sans modifier la quantité totale de travail. Pour ce modèle, nous obtenons deux résultats essentiels: une condition nécessaire et suffisante pour que l'ensemble de tâches puisse être ordonnancé sur les machines; et un algorithme en temps polynomial pour produire un ordonnancement faisable. Ces résultats fournissent un outil conceptuel et un algorithme qui permettent de proposer de nouvelles analyses et de nouveaux designs d'algorithmes pour de multiples objectifs. Nous obtenons également de nouveaux résultats pour les tâches monotones pour lesquelles la quantité totale de travail augmente avec la parallélisation.

 

Dans un deuxième temps, étant donnés les principaux modèles de tarification tels que celui d'Amazon EC2, nous proposons un framework étendu d'apprentissage en ligne pour que les tenants puissent décider du type d'instances à acheter entre instances à la demande, spot et long terme (e.g., réservées à l'avance ou détenu par ailleurs par l'organisation), de façon à minimiser leur coût.

Rechercher



Informations additionnelles

Profils