Graduate School and Research Center In communication systems

Christian WELLEKENS

Christian WELLEKENS
Christian WELLEKENS
Professor Emeritus
+32 472 46 91 77

Biography

Education

  • Christian Wellekens received the degree of Ingénieur Civil Electricien Mécanicien from the University of Louvain, Belgium in 1965 and the Ph.D. from the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland in 1974.
  • Since his retirement, he obtained in 2013 a Master in philosophy at the Catholic university of Louvain. Specializing in German idealism, he works on a doctoral thesis on "Freedom and State". 

Experience

  • He worked for MBLE Research Labs (Philips development) from 1965-68 where he developed solid-state microwave power amplifiers for Hertzian communications.
  • In 1968, he joined the Philips Research Laboratory (PRLB) where he stayed till March 1991. He worked successively on the mathematical approximation of specifications of analog and digital filters, mathematical model of a ultrasonic piezoelectric transducer for medical echography.
  • He spent a sabbatical year (1989-1990) at Bellcore (Bell Communications Research), Morristown, N.J USA. His main contributions were in circuit theory, signal processing, speech recognition, connectionist networks and applied mathematics.
  • From March 1991 to September 1992, he was a Scientific Advisor for Speech Recognition at Lernout & Hauspie Speech Products (Belgium) where he contributed to the development of industrial speech recognizers using stochastic models as well as neural networks.

Search



Distinctions

  • He co-authored the paper winning the ISCA 2009 best paper award at the interspeech conference in Brighton, « Automatic speech recognition and speech variability: a review » published in the "Speech communication journal", Sept. 10, 2009.
  • In 2005, he received the Christoffel Plantin Award (Belgium) as an outstanding Belgian personality working abroad.

Ecole d'ingénieur et centre de recherche en télécommunications

Christian WELLEKENS

Christian WELLEKENS
Christian WELLEKENS
Professeur Emérite
+32 472 46 91 77

Biographie

Etudes

  • Christian Wellekens a reçu le diplôme d'Ingénieur Civil Mécanicien Electricien de l'Université de Louvain, en Belgique en 1965 et un doctorat de l'Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, en Suisse en 1974.
  • Depuis sa retraite, il a obtenu en 2013 un master en Philosophie à l'Université catholique de Louvain. Se spécialisant en idéalisme allemand, il prépare une thèse de doctorat sur la "Liberté et l'Etat".

Expérience

  • Il a travaillé pour MBLE Research Labs (Philips développement) de 1965 à 68 où il a développé des amplificateurs de puissance micro-ondes transistorisés pour liaison par cable hertzien.
  • En 1968, il rejoint le Philips Research Laboratory (PRLB) où il est resté jusqu'en Mars 1991. Il a travaillé successivement sur l'approximation mathématique de spécifications de filtres analogiques et numériques, sur la modélisation mathématique d'un transducteur ultrasonique piezoelectrique pour échographie médicale.
  • Il a passé une année sabbatique (1989-1990) chez Bellcore (Bell Communications Research), Morristown, New Jersey aux USA. Ses principales contributions ont été dans la théorie des circuits, le traitement du signal, la reconnaissance vocale, les réseaux connexionnistes et les mathématiques appliquées.
  • De Mars 1991 à Septembre 1992, il a été conseiller scientifique pour la reconnaissance vocale chez Lernout & Hauspie Speech Products (Belgique) où il a contribué au développement de reconnaisseurs de parole industriels utilisant des modèles stochastiques ainsi que les réseaux neuronaux.

Rechercher



Distinctions

  • Il est co-auteur de l'article qui a gagné le prix du meilleur papier à l'ISCA 2009, conférence Interspeech à Brighton, « La reconnaissance automatique de la parole et la variabilité de la parole : un avis » publié dans le "Speech communication journal", 10 septembre 2009.
  • En 2005, il a reçu le Prix Christoffel Plantin (Belgique) récompensant une des personnalités belges exceptionnelles travaillant à l'étranger.