Graduate School and Research Center in Digital Sciences

Dirk SLOCK

Dirk SLOCK
Dirk SLOCK
Eurecom - Communication systems 
Professor
04 93 00 81 06
04 93 00 82 00
337

Teaching

  • He has taught speech coding for mobile communications, signal modeling and coding, radio engineering, advanced topics, and currently teaches statistical signal processing and signal processing techniques for wireless and wireline communications.

My courses

  • SP4COM / Spring 2019 - Signal Processing for Communications

    The subtitle of this course could be “Multi-Antenna Interference Handling for Multi-User Multi-Cell Systems”. Indeed the main focus is on the exploitation of multiple antennas to (more easily) handle inter-symbol and inter-user interference. Key concepts here are beamforming, MIMO (Multi-Input Multi-Output), Multi-User MIMO, Massive MIMO.

    After a basic course in digital communications, a wide range of issues arise in the treatment of physical layer procedures in a wide variety of transmission technologies such as xDSL, gigabit Ethernet, powerline systems, DAB/DVB broadcasting and optical communication systems to name a few. These issues involve e.g. multi-rate echo cancellation for full duplex operation on twisted pair telephone lines, synchronization and equalization techniques in a variety of single and multi-carrier systems, impulsive noise in powerline and automotive systems etc. Even just wireless communications encompass a wide range of systems such as satellite, underwater, near-field communications, fixed wireless access, private systems, sensors, IoT, etc. and a wide range of aspects such as relaying, full duplex radio, cognitive radio, location estimation etc.

    Whereas these systems will be briefly mentioned, the main focus will be on cellular wireless and the use of multiple antennas at receivers and transmitters. Spatial filtering, spatiotemporal filtering, and multiuser detection for CDMA are all treated in a unified fashion.

    Teaching and Learning Methods: Lectures, Exercise and  Lab session (groups of 1-2 students depending on size of class).

    Course Policies: Attendance of Lab session is mandatory (25% of final grade).

  • SP4COM / Spring 2018 - Signal Processing for Communications

    The subtitle of this course could be “Multi-Antenna Interference Handling for Multi-User Multi-Cell Systems”. Indeed the main focus is on the exploitation of multiple antennas to (more easily) handle inter-symbol and inter-user interference. Key concepts here are beamforming, MIMO (Multi-Input Multi-Output), Multi-User MIMO, Massive MIMO.

    After a basic course in digital communications, a wide range of issues arise in the treatment of physical layer procedures in a wide variety of transmission technologies such as xDSL, gigabit Ethernet, powerline systems, DAB/DVB broadcasting and optical communication systems to name a few. These issues involve e.g. multi-rate echo cancellation for full duplex operation on twisted pair telephone lines, synchronization and equalization techniques in a variety of single and multi-carrier systems, impulsive noise in powerline and automotive systems etc. Even just wireless communications encompass a wide range of systems such as satellite, underwater, near-field communications, fixed wireless access, private systems, sensors, IoT, etc. and a wide range of aspects such as relaying, full duplex radio, cognitive radio, location estimation etc.

    Whereas these systems will be briefly mentioned, the main focus will be on cellular wireless and the use of multiple antennas at receivers and transmitters. Spatial filtering, spatiotemporal filtering, and multiuser detection for CDMA are all treated in a unified fashion.

    Teaching and Learning Methods: Lectures, Exercise and  Lab session (groups of 1-2 students depending on size of class).

    Course Policies: Attendance of Lab session is mandatory (25% of final grade).

  • SSP / Fall 2018 - Statistical signal processing

    The proper treatment of modern communication systems requires the modelling of signals as random processes. Often the signal description will involve a number of parameters such as carrier frequency, timing, channel impulse response, noise variance, interference spectrum. The values of these parameters are unknown and need to be estimated for the receiver to be able to proceed.

    Parameters may also occur in the description of other random analysis of communication networks, or in the descriptions of sounds and images, or other data, e.g. geolocation. This course provides an introduction to the basic techniques for estimation of a finite set of parameters, of a signal spectrum or of one complete signal on the basis of a correlated signal (optimal filtering, Wiener and Kalman filtering). The techniques introduced in this course have a proven track record of many decades. They are complementary to the techniques introduced in the EURECOM course Stat. They are useful for other application branches such as machine learning, in the EURECOM courses MALIS and ASI.

    Teaching and Learning Methods: Lectures, Homework, Exercise and  Lab session (groups of 1-2 students depending on size of class).

    Course Policies:  Attendance of Lab session is mandatory (15% of final grade).

Search




Distinctions

  • Prof. Dirk SLOCK was elected "EURASIP Fellow" in 2015
  • In January 2006, he was elected IEEE FELLOW «for contributions to adaptive filtering and signal processing for wireless communications» 
  • He received one Best Journal Paper Award from the IEEE-SP and one from EURASIP in 1992
  • He is the coauthor of two IEEE Globecom 98 and one IEEE SPAWC 2005, Best Student Paper Awards

Ecole d'ingénieur et centre de recherche en Sciences du numérique

Dirk SLOCK

Dirk SLOCK
Dirk SLOCK
Eurecom - Systèmes de Communication 
Professeur
04 93 00 81 06
04 93 00 82 00
337

Enseignement

  • A EURECOM, il a enseigné le codage de la parole pour les communications mobiles, la modélisation des signaux et du codage, l'ingénierie radio, et enseigne actuallement le traitement statistique du signal, et les techniques de traitement du signal pour les communications filaires et sans fil

Mes cours

  • SP4COM / Printemps 2019 - Traitement de Signal pour les Communications

    Le sous-titre de ce cours pourrait être "Gestion multi-antenne des interférences pour les systèmes multi-utilisateurs multi-cellules". En effet, l'accent est mis sur l'exploitation de plusieurs antennes pour gérer (plus facilement) les interférences inter-symboles et inter-utilisateurs. Les concepts clés sont ici le beamforming, le MIMO (Multi-Input Multi-Output), le MIMO multi-utilisateur, le MIMO Massive.

    Après un cours de base en communications numériques, un large éventail de questions se posent dans le traitement des procédures de la couche physique dans une grande variété de technologies de transmission telles que xDSL, gigabit Ethernet, systèmes CPL, systèmes de diffusion DAB / DVB et de communication optique. Ces problèmes impliquent, par exemple, annulation d'écho multi-cadence pour le fonctionnement en duplex intégral sur lignes téléphoniques à paire torsadée, techniques de synchronisation et d'égalisation dans divers systèmes monoporteuse et multiporteuses, bruit impulsif dans les systèmes électriques et automobiles, etc. Même les communications sans fil englobent une large gamme de systèmes tels comme satellite, sous-marin, communications en champ proche, accès hertzien fixe, systèmes privés, capteurs, IoT, etc., et un large éventail d'aspects tels que le relais, la radio full duplex, la radio cognitive, l'estimation de la localisation, etc.

    Alors que ces systèmes seront brièvement mentionnés, l'accent principal sera mis sur le sans-fil cellulaire et l'utilisation d'antennes multiples dans les récepteurs et les émetteurs. Le filtrage spatial, le filtrage spatio-temporel et la détection multi-utilisateur pour CDMA sont tous traités de manière unifiée.

    Enseignement et méthodes d’apprentissage : Cours magistral, TD et TP (groupes de 1-2 étudiants en fonction de la taille de la classe).

    Règles du cours : La présence au TP est obligatoire (25% de la note finale).

  • SP4COM / Printemps 2018 - Traitement de Signal pour les Communications

    Le sous-titre de ce cours pourrait être "Gestion multi-antenne des interférences pour les systèmes multi-utilisateurs multi-cellules". En effet, l'accent est mis sur l'exploitation de plusieurs antennes pour gérer (plus facilement) les interférences inter-symboles et inter-utilisateurs. Les concepts clés sont ici le beamforming, le MIMO (Multi-Input Multi-Output), le MIMO multi-utilisateur, le MIMO Massive.

    Après un cours de base en communications numériques, un large éventail de questions se posent dans le traitement des procédures de la couche physique dans une grande variété de technologies de transmission telles que xDSL, gigabit Ethernet, systèmes CPL, systèmes de diffusion DAB / DVB et de communication optique. Ces problèmes impliquent, par exemple, annulation d'écho multi-cadence pour le fonctionnement en duplex intégral sur lignes téléphoniques à paire torsadée, techniques de synchronisation et d'égalisation dans divers systèmes monoporteuse et multiporteuses, bruit impulsif dans les systèmes électriques et automobiles, etc. Même les communications sans fil englobent une large gamme de systèmes tels comme satellite, sous-marin, communications en champ proche, accès hertzien fixe, systèmes privés, capteurs, IoT, etc., et un large éventail d'aspects tels que le relais, la radio full duplex, la radio cognitive, l'estimation de la localisation, etc.

    Alors que ces systèmes seront brièvement mentionnés, l'accent principal sera mis sur le sans-fil cellulaire et l'utilisation d'antennes multiples dans les récepteurs et les émetteurs. Le filtrage spatial, le filtrage spatio-temporel et la détection multi-utilisateur pour CDMA sont tous traités de manière unifiée.

    Enseignement et méthodes d’apprentissage : Cours magistral, TD et TP (groupes de 1-2 étudiants en fonction de la taille de la classe).

    Règles du cours : La présence au TP est obligatoire (25% de la note finale).

  • SSP / Automne 2018 - Traitement du signal statistique

    Le traitement correct des systèmes de communication modernes nécessite la modélisation des signaux en tant que processus aléatoires. Souvent, la description du signal implique un certain nombre de paramètres tels que la fréquence porteuse, la synchronisation, la réponse impulsionnelle du canal, la variance du bruit, le spectre des interférences. Les valeurs de ces paramètres sont inconnues et doivent être estimées pour que le récepteur puisse fonctionner.

    Des paramètres peuvent également apparaître dans la description d'autres analyses aléatoires de réseaux de communication, ou dans les descriptions de sons et d'images, ou d'autres données, par ex. la géolocalisation. Ce cours fournit une introduction aux techniques de base pour l'estimation d'un ensemble fini de paramètres, d'un spectre de signal ou d'un signal complet sur la base d'un signal corrélé (filtrage optimal, filtrage de Wiener et Kalman). Les techniques présentées dans ce cours ont fait leurs preuves depuis de nombreuses décennies. Ils sont complémentaires aux techniques introduites dans le cours EURECOM Stat. Ils sont utiles pour d'autres applications telles que l'apprentissage automatique, dans les cours EURECOM MALIS et ASI.

    Enseignement et méthodes d’apprentissage:  Cours magistral, Devoir, TDs et TP (groupes de 1-2 étudiants en fonction de la taille de la classe).

    Règles du cours : La présence au TP est obligatoire (15% de la note finale).

Rechercher




Distinctions

  • Le Professeur Dirk SLOCK a été élevé au rang de "EURASIP Fellow" en 2015
  • En Janvier 2006, il a été élu IEEE FELLOW «pour ses contributions au filtrage adaptatif et au traitement du signal pour les communications sans fil»
  • Il a reçu le prix du meilleur article de revue de l'IEEE-SP et celui d'EURASIP en 1992
  • Il est le coauteur de deux articles récompensés lors de la conférence IEEE Globecom 98, et un lors de la conférence IEEE SPAWC 2005, qui ont reçu les prix du meilleur papier étudiant