Graduate School and Research Center in Digital Sciences

Paolo PAPOTTI

Paolo PAPOTTI
Paolo PAPOTTI
Eurecom - Data Science 
Assistant professor
04 93 00 81 47
04 93 00 82 00
423

Teaching

  • Database systems implementation

My courses

  • DBSys / Fall 2020 - Database Management System Implementation

    This course covers the implementation of database systems by addressing the main topics, including data storage, indexing, querying; query optimization and execution; concurrency control and transaction management.

    The purpose of the course is to become familiar with the principles and the ideas behind established techniques for handling data at scale. Students will implement classic and cutting-edge database systems methods in three projects. Projects represent the biggest chunk of this course. The projects require extending the functionality of a data management system in order to support novel features. In at least one the projects, students will also write a technical report that describes and experimentally evaluates the built system.

    The course is complemented by lab sessions to guide students through the design and validation of the methods developed duringthe lectures.

    Teaching and Learning Methods: Lectures and Lab sessions (preferably one student per group).

    Course Policies : 

    Students are expected to do their own assigned work. If it is determined that a student has engaged in any form of academic dishonesty, he or she may fail the course and additional sanctions according to Eurecom's policies.

Search




Distinctions

  • In 2020, he reveives one of the Google Faculty Research Awards 2019-2020 in the "Structured Data" category
  • Distinguished Reviewer Award for VLDB 2019
  • Distinguished Reviewer Award for VLDB 2018

  • Best Demo Award for "DataXFormer: An Interactive Data Transformation Tool" (SIGMOD 2015)

  • Google Faculty Research Award, Fall 2015

Ecole d'ingénieur et centre de recherche en Sciences du numérique

Paolo PAPOTTI

Paolo PAPOTTI
Paolo PAPOTTI
Eurecom - Data Science 
Maître de Conférence
04 93 00 81 47
04 93 00 82 00
427

Enseignement

  • Database systems implementation

Mes cours

  • DBSys / Automne 2018 - Implémentation du Système de Gestion de Données

    Ce cours couvre la mise en oeuvre des principaux sujets, y compris le stockage de données, l'indexation, l'interrogation; optimisation et exécution de requêtes; contrôle des accès concurrents et gestion des transactions.

    Le but du cours est de se familiariser avec les principes et les idées qui sont à la base des techniques établies pour la  gestion des données à grande échelle. Les étudiants seront en mesure d'implémenter des méthodes classiques à partir de manuels scolaires et des méthodes de pointe à partir d'articles de recherche pour la gestion des données dans trois projets.  Les projets représentent la plus grande partie de ce cours. Ils nécessitent d'étendre les fonctionnalités d'un système de gestion de données afin de prendre en charge de nouvelles fonctionnalités. Pour au moins un des projets, les étudiants rédigeront également un rapport technique décrivant et évaluant le système construit.

    Le cours est complété par des séances de laboratoire pour guider les étudiants à travers la conception et la validation des méthodes développées pendant les cours.

    Enseignement et méthodes d'apprentissage : Cours et laboratoires (de préférence un étudiant par groupe)

    Règles du cours :

    Les étudiants sont censés faire leur propre travail assigné. S'il est établi qu'un étudiant s'est livré à une quelconque forme de malhonnêteté académique, il peut échouer le cours et des sanctions supplémentaires  pourront être imposées conformément aux politiques d'Eurecom.

Rechercher




Distinctions

  • Best Demo Award pour "DataXFormer: An Interactive Data Transformation Tool" (SIGMOD 2015)
  • Google Faculty Research Award, Fall 2015