Graduate School and Research Center In communication systems


Eurecom - Mobile Communications 
Phd Student ( 2010 - 2013)


Contributions to Spectrum Sensing and Cognitive Radio Systems



Cognitive radio (CR) is a smart wireless communication concept that is able to promote the efficiency of the spectrum usage by exploiting the free frequency bands in the spectrum, namely spectrum holes. Spectrum sensing is a major ingredient enabling CR technology, as it provides a series of algorithms enabling primary users (PUs) detection and spectrum holes identification.

In a first part, we study two spectrum sensing algorithms in wideband scenarios. The first algorithm is a reconfigurable filter bank that tracks discontinuities in PU transmissions due to transitions from occupied to free bands. Thus this detector enables a better identification of secondary user (SU) opportunities. The second contribution tackles a hardware related problem in wideband systems which is the unability of ADCs to acquire wideband signals at the Nyquist rate. We take into account this data acquisition problem by designing a spectrum sensing algorithm based on compressed sensing.

In the second part we focus on the identification of signals and standards in the TV White Space context. We first suggest a mixed signal separation and classification method based on multiple sensing algorithms. The second algorithm is directly detects cyclostationary features (CFD) of digitally modulated signals in order to classify PU signals (DVB-T, PMSE) while a SU (LTE) is transmitting. Here we also suggest to improve CFD performance via Computer Vision tools.

The third part proposes a network discovery mechanism (PU transmitter localization and spectrum sensing) in a unique compressed sensing framework. This framework exploits sparsity in two ways: sparsity of primary spectrum occupancy (which allows to overcome ADC sampling frequency limitations) and the fact that in a wireless networks transmitters are sparsely distributed within a given area.

Ecole d'ingénieur et centre de recherche en télécommunications

Wael GUIBENE

Wael GUIBENE
Wael GUIBENE
Eurecom - Communications Mobiles 
Doctorant ( 2010 - 2013)
Alumni EURECOM

Thèse

Contributions au Spectrum Sensing et à la Radio Cognitive

Responsable(s)

 

La radio cognitive est une technologie prometteuse pour l'utilisation efficace du spectre. La détection spectrale, ou "spectrum sensing" est une phase primordiale durant laquelle le terminal doit surveiller l'activité dans le spectre du primaire et adapter la transmission des utilisateurs secondaires pour une meilleure allocation des ressources spectrales. La détection spectrale aveugle et la localisation dans les réseaux cognitifs sont traitées dans cette thèse.

L'objectif de la première partie est de proposer deux schémas distincts de détection en contexte large bande. La première technique est un banc de filtre reconfigurable qui estime et caractérise les discontinuités dans le spectre de d'utilisateur primaire et utilise ces informations pour permettre au secondaire de s'insérer d'une manière dynamique dans les trous de spectre. La deuxième approche prend en compte que les limites de fréquence d’échantillonnage  des CAN (convertisseurs analogique numérique) se répercutent sur la détection spectrale et dans ce contexte on propose de remédier à ces imperfections par des outils de "compressed sensing".

La deuxième partie de cette thèse présente et analyse deux stratégies de reconnaissance de standards en aveugle. La première étant basée sur la séparation de sources puis classification de standards. La deuxième méthode suggère de détecter les transmissions primaires (DVB-T, PMSE) lorsque les secondaires (LTE) sont actifs. Pour la deuxième méthode on suggère d'utiliser des outils de Vision par Ordinateur pour réduire le temps nécessaire à la classification des signaux.

Dans la troisième partie, on suggère un schéma de localisation et "spectrum sensing" dans les réseaux cognitifs exploitant la sparsité doublement : dans le spectre fréquentiel occupé par les primaires (permettant de s’affranchir des limites d’échantillonnage des CANs) et dans la distribution spatiale des transmetteurs.