Graduate School and Research Center In communication systems

Christelle YEMDJI TCHASSI

Christelle YEMDJI TCHASSI
Christelle YEMDJI TCHASSI
Eurecom - Multimedia Communications 
Phd Student ( 2009 - 2013)
Alumni EURECOM

Thesis

Acoustic echo cancellation for single- and dual-microphone devices: Application to mobile devices

Responsible(s)

 

Mobile terminals are arguably the most popular telecommunications device of the present day.  With the expectation of use anytime, anywhere, mobile terminals are increasingly  used in adverse scenarios such as in hands-free mode and in noisy environments.  Speech quality is commonly degraded in such cases by the presence of acoustic echo and ambient noise. In consequence, mobile terminals are generally equipped with speech signal processing algorithms in order to assure acceptable speech quality.

Classical approaches to speech signal processing involve independent acoustic echo cancellation, noise suppression and post-filtering. While performance is generally acceptable, degradations are noticeable at low signal-to-echo ratios (hands-free scenarios) and computational complexity can be high.  Furthermore, while mobile terminals are increasingly equipped with multiple microphones, they are generally exploited for noise suppression alone, even if there is natural potential for combined noise suppression and echo control.

This thesis presents new combination and synchronization architecture for acoustic echo cancellation for single- and dual-microphone devices.  It moves beyond the current state-of-the-art by reducing computational complexity while improving performance in low signal-to-echo conditions.  The thesis also presents the first dual-microphone solution to double-talk detection.  These contributions pave the way for further applied research in speech processing; the novel architecture is readily extendible to multiple-microphone scenarios while respecting levels of computational efficiency required for integration in current mobile terminals.

Ecole d'ingénieur et centre de recherche en télécommunications

Christelle YEMDJI TCHASSI

Christelle YEMDJI TCHASSI
Christelle YEMDJI TCHASSI
Eurecom - Communications Multimédia 
Doctorant ( 2009 - 2013)
Alumni EURECOM

Thèse

Annulation d?écho acoustique pour terminaux mobiles intégrant un ou deux microphoniques

Responsable(s)

 

Les téléphones mobiles sont sans aucun doute les terminaux de télécommunication le plus populaire de nos jours.  Le besoin de mobilité étant toujours grandissant, les téléphones mobiles sont parfois utilisés dans des conditions très diverses tel qu’en mains-libres ou dans des environnements bruités. Dans de telles conditions, la qualité de la parole est perturbée par la présence de l'écho acoustique et du bruit ambiant. En conséquence, les terminaux sont généralement équipés d'algorithmes de traitement de la parole.

Les chaines de traitement de parole classiques, c’est-à-dire composés d’un annuleur d’écho adaptatif, d’une réduction de bruit et d’une suppression d’écho résiduel fournissent en général une qualité de la parole acceptable moyennant une complexité de calcul parfois importante. Néanmoins, lorsque le rapport signal à écho est faible on peut noter des dégradations du signal utile. De plus, les terminaux mobiles sont de plus en plus équipés de plusieurs microphones qui ne sont alors utilisés que pour la réduction de bruit bien qu’ils présentent un indéniable intérêt pour les systèmes combinés de réduction de bruit et suppression d’écho résiduel.

Dans cette thèse, nous présentons une nouvelle architecture combinée et synchronisée d’annulation d’écho pour terminaux mobiles à un ou deux microphones. L’architecture proposée présente l’avantage de réduire efficacement la complexité calculatoire tout en tout en améliorant la qualité de la parole même pour les scenarios défavorables (rapport signal à écho faible). Nous présentons également la première solution bi-microphones de détection de double parole. Enfin, nos techniques bi-microphones peuvent facilement être appliquées aux terminaux multi-microphones et tout en ayant une capacité calculatoire acceptable pour les telephones mobiles.

Rechercher



Informations additionnelles

Profils