Graduate School and Research Center In communication systems

Miriam REDI

Miriam REDI
Miriam REDI
Eurecom - Multimedia Communications 
Phd Student ( 2010 - 2013)
Alumni EURECOM

Thesis

Novel methods for semantic and aesthetic multimedia retrieval

Responsible(s)

Can we help computers to understand the meaning of an image, and to perceive the image beauty?
In the internet era, computerized classification and discovery of image properties is of crucial importance for the automatic organization of the huge volume of visual data surrounding us. Multimedia Information Retrieval (MMIR) is a research field that helps building intelligent systems that automatically recognize the image content and its characteristics.
In general, this is achieved by following a chain process: first, low-level features are extracted and pooled into compact image signatures. Then, machine learning techniques are used to build models able to distinguish between different image categories based on such signatures. Such model will be finally used to recognize the properties of a new image.
Despite the advances in the field, human vision systems still substantially outperform their computer-based counterparts. In this thesis we therefore design a set of novel contributions for each step of the MMIR chain, aiming at improving the global recognition performances.
In our work, we explore techniques from a variety of fields that are not traditionally related with Multimedia Retrieval, and embed them into effective MMIR frameworks. For example, we borrow the concept of image saliency from visual perception, and use it to build low-level features. We employ the Copula theory of economic statistics for feature aggregation. We re-use the notion of graded relevance, popular in web page ranking, for visual retrieval frameworks. Finally, we explore the synergy between semantic analysis, photographic analysis, affective analysis and artistic analysis to study the aesthetics of images and videos.
We will explain in detail our novel solutions and prove their effectiveness for image categorization, video retrieval and image beauty assessment.

Ecole d'ingénieur et centre de recherche en télécommunications

Miriam REDI

Miriam REDI
Miriam REDI
Eurecom - Communications Multimédia 
Doctorant ( 2010 - 2013)
Alumni EURECOM

Thèse

Nouvelles méthodes pour la recherche sémantique et esthétique d?informations multimédia

Responsable(s)

 

 Comment les ordinateurs peuvent-ils comprendre la signification et la beauté d'une image?
A l'ère d'Internet, la classification informatisée des images est d'une importance cruciale pour l’utilisation efficace de l'énorme quantité de données visuelles qui sont disponibles. La Recherche d’Information Multimédia (RIM) est un domaine de recherche qui vise à construire des systèmes capables de reconnaître automatiquement le contenu d’une image.
D'abord, des caractéristiques de bas niveau sont extraites et regroupées en signatures visuelles compactes. Ensuite, des techniques d'apprentissage automatique construisent des modèles qui font la distinction entre les différentes catégories d'images à partir de ces signatures. Ces modèles sont finalement utilisés pour reconnaître les propriétés d'une nouvelle image.
Malgré les progrès dans le domaine, ces systèmes ont des performances en général limitées. Dans cette thèse, nous concevons un ensemble de contributions originales pour chaque étape de la chaîne RIM, en explorant des techniques provenant d'une variété de domaines qui ne sont pas traditionnellement liés avec la Recherche d’Information Multimédia.
Par exemple, nous empruntons la notion de saillance et l'utilisons pour construire des caractéristiques de bas niveau. Nous employons la théorie des Copulae étudiée en statistique économique, pour l'agrégation des caractéristiques. Nous réutilisons la notion de pertinence graduée, populaire dans le classement des pages Web, pour la récupération visuelle. Nous explorons la synergie de l’analyse sémantique, l’analyse photographique, l’analyse émotionnelle, l’analyse artistique pour étudier le niveau esthétique de l’image.
Le manuscrit détaille nos solutions novatrices et montre leur efficacité pour la catégorisation d'image et de vidéo, et l’évaluation de l'esthétique.