Graduate School and Research Center In communication systems

Mario PASTORELLI

Mario PASTORELLI
Mario PASTORELLI
Eurecom - Networking and Security 
PhD Student
04 93 00 81 23
04 93 00 82 00
369

Thesis

Design, Analysis and Implementation of Large-scale Distributed Systems for Data-intensive Applications

Responsible(s)

The objective of this Thesis is to design, analyze and experiment with tools for data-intensive applications.

The candidate will begin with an experimental work towards the definition of scalable algorithms to analyze large-scale network traces using MapReduce, a recent system designed to perform parallel processing of massing amounts of data. The design and analysis of scalable (parallel) algorithms is not trivial as it involves a deep understanding of the underlying execution framework, especially for what concerns the optimization of resource utilization (namely, disk and network I/O): as such, the candidate will be required to "bend" the MapReduce framework in order to accommodate the execution flow of the algorithms.

In addition to studying the programming model, the candidate will focus on the key building blocks of the MapReduce framework as well. In particular, the candidate will work on scheduling mechanisms that enable sharing the resources of a cluster of commodity machines for multiple concurrent jobs. Insights from the theory of scheduling will have to be put into practice with the goal of producing a scheduling protocol that caters fairness and performance. This work requires the candidate to participate and contribute to the open-source community behind Hadoop, a Java-based implementation of MapReduce, by issuing a JIRA (a ticket) and by launching a series of experiments to evaluate and compare the schedule of several other protocols.

As a broader research direction, in this Thesis the candidate will cover the measurement and analysis of the impact of cluster virtualization on parallel processing frameworks, including MapReduce. Eventually, the output of this task will be the design and evaluation of (virtual) resource allocation mechanisms to deploy virtual instances of cluster machines on a physical cluster, while taking into account the requirements of the parallel processing framework (e.g. data locality).

Ecole d'ingénieur et centre de recherche en télécommunications

Mario PASTORELLI

Mario PASTORELLI
Mario PASTORELLI
Eurecom - Réseaux et Sécurité 
Doctorant
04 93 00 81 23
04 93 00 82 00
369

Thèse

Conception, Analyse et Implémentation de systèmes à large échelee pour les applications d'analyse de données

Responsable(s)

 

L'objectif de cette thèse est de concevoir, analyser et expérimenter des outils pour les applications d'analyse de énormes quantités de données.

Le candidat doit commencer par un travail expérimental pour la définition des algorithmes parallèles, pour analyser des énormes traces réseau en utilisant MapReduce, un système récent conçu pour effectuer le traitement en parallèle de données. La conception et l'analyse des algorithmes n'est pas simple car ils impliquent une compréhension profonde du cadre d'exécution sous-jacents, en particulier pour ce qui concerne l'optimisation de l'utilisation des ressources (à savoir, le disque et le réseau): en tant que tel, le candidat sera mené a adapter MapReduce pour exécuter le flow d'exécution des algorithmes ainsi définis.

En plus d'étudier le modèle de programmation, le candidat se concentrera sur les principaux éléments constitutifs de MapReduce. En particulier, le candidat travaillera sur la programmation des mécanismes qui permettent de partager les ressources d'un cluster de machines pour plusieurs « Jobs » simultanés. En se basant sur la théorie de l'ordonnancement, le candidat devra définir un protocole d'ordonnancement qui respecte l'équité entre « Jobs » et qui vise la performance. Ce travail exige que le candidat participe et contribue à la communauté open-source de Hadoop, une implémentation en Java de MapReduce, en émettant un JIRA (un billet) et en lançant une série d'expériences pour évaluer et comparer plusieurs autres protocoles.

Comme direction de recherche plus ample, dans cette thèse le candidat travaillera sur la mesure et l'analyse de l'impact de la virtualisation d'un cluster sur les systèmes de traitement de données parallèles, y compris MapReduce. Finalement, le résultat attendu de cette tâche sera la conception et l'évaluation des mécanismes d'allocation des ressources (virtuelles) pour déployer des instances de machines virtuelles sur un cluster physique, tout en tenant compte des exigences du « framework » sous-jacent (localité des données, par exemple).

Rechercher



Informations additionnelles

Profils