KOUNTOURIS Marios

KOUNTOURIS Marios
  • KOUNTOURIS Marios
  • EURECOM - Communication systems
  • Assistant Professor
  • Marios.Kountouris@eurecom.fr
  • 04 93 00 81 08
  • 311

Thesis

Multiuser multi-antenna systems with limited feedback

The use of multiple antennas (MIMO) has been recognized as a key technology to significantly improve the spectral efficiency of next-generation wireless systems. In multiuser MIMO networks, the spatial degrees of freedom offered by multiple antennas can be advantageously exploited to enhance the system capacity, by scheduling multiple users simultaneously. However, these promising gains are highly sensitive to the amount of channel state information at the transmitter (CSIT).

In this thesis, we focus on linear beamforming and scheduling techniques relying on low-rate partial CSIT. We first propose to split the design between the scheduling and the final beam design stages. This two-stage approach is applied to a random beamforming (RBF) context and several refinement strategies, including beam power control, are proposed. Significant feedback reduction and throughput gains are observed, particularly in sparse networks.

In correlated MIMO channels, channel structure is exploited as a means to reduce feedback. We show how memory-based RBF can exploit channel redundancy and achieve close to optimum capacity for slow time-varying channels. In spatially correlated channels, statistical CSIT is combined with instantaneous low-rate channel quality information (CQI) and a maximum likelihood channel estimation framework is proposed.

Limited feedback strategies utilizing quantization codebooks are also investigated. The problem of CQI design is addressed and several scalar feedback metrics are proposed. It is shown that low-rate CQI feedback combined with channel directional information and greedy user selection can achieve a significant fraction of the optimum capacity.

Ecole d'ingénieur et centre de recherche en Sciences du numérique

Marios KOUNTOURIS

Marios KOUNTOURIS
Marios KOUNTOURIS
Eurecom - Systèmes de Communication 
04 93 00 81 08
04 93 00 82 00
311

Thèse

Systèmes multi-utilisateurs avec voie de retour limitée

Responsable(s)

L'utilisation des antennes multiples (MIMO) a été identifiée comme une technologie principale pour améliorer l'efficacité spectrale des futurs systèmes de communication. Dans les réseaux MIMO multi-utilisateurs, les degrés de liberté spatiaux offerts par les antennes multiples peuvent être exploités afin d'augmenter la capacité, en ordonnançant plusieurs utilisateurs au même temps. Cependant, ces gains sont sensibles à la quantité de l'information d'état de canal à l'émetteur (CSIT).

Dans cette thèse, on considère des techniques de formation de faisceaux et ordonnancement basées sur CSIT partielle. On propose de diviser la conception entre l'ordonnancement et l' étape finale de formation de faisceaux. Cette approche est appliquée dans un contexte de formation de faisceaux aléatoire (RBF) et plusieurs stratégies d'amélioration successive, y compris le contrôle de puissance de faisceau, sont proposées.

Dans des canaux MIMO corrélés, la structure du canal est exploitée afin de réduire la voie de retour. On montre comment le RBF peut approcher la capacité optimale pour des canaux qui varient lentement avec le temps. Dans des canaux spatialement corrélés, CSIT statistique est combiné avec information de qualité de canal (CQI) instantanée et une technique d'estimation du canal à maximum de vraisemblance est proposée.

Des stratégies de voie de retour limitée en utilisant des codebooks de quantification sont également étudiées. Le problème de la conception de CQI est adressé et plusieurs métriques scalaires de rétroaction sont proposées. On montre que ces métriques, combinées avec information sur la direction du canal, peuvent atteindre une grande partie de la capacité optimale.

Rechercher




Distinctions

  • 2016 IEEE ComSoc Communication Theory Technical Committee Early Achievement Award
  • 2013 IEEE Communication Society (ComSoc) Outstanding Young Researcher Award for the EMEA Region
  • 2014 EURASIP Best Paper Award – EURASIP Journal on Advances in Signal Processing
  • 2012 IEEE SPS Signal Processing Magazine Award
  • Best Student Paper Award in IEEE SPAWC 2013
  • Best Paper Award in IEEE GLOBECOM 2009