Awareness-raising to research

AwaRe
Abstract

The objective of this course is to familiarize Master students with the research community, both from academia and industry.

Several speakers from different background will explain their motivation to have chosen to do a Ph.D. and will share their personal experience since then accumulated during their career. The course will include several Q&A sessions, the selection and reading of a scientific article co-authored by a young researcher.The objective of this course is to familiarize Master students with the research community, both from academia and industry.

Several speakers from different background will explain their motivation to have chosen to do a Ph.D. and will share their personal experience since then accumulated during their career. The course will include several Q&A sessions, the selection and reading of a scientific article co-authored by a young researcher.

Description

The list of talks:

- What is a phd, why do a phd, myths (1-hour session)

Marios Kountouris (EURECOM)

Marios.Kountouris@eurecom.fr

https://www.eurecom.fr/en/people/kountouris-marios

What is a PhD? Have you ever wondered whether you “should” get a PhD or not? This lecture will discuss the most common reasons for pursuing one, along with the benefits that a PhD can give you. It will look at the facts, stats, and myths about PhD and will explain how (and where) to embark on a PhD journey?

- From academic research to a startup (1-hour session)

Arnaud Legout (INRIA)

http://www-sop.inria.fr/members/Arnaud.Legout/

arnaud.legout@inria.fr

The speaker is a research scientist at Inria. However, he made academic breaks to create two startups. He will present his journey starting from his master 1, explain why he made a Ph.D. thesis, how it helps making startups, why he made an academic career, and what are the links between academic research and startups.

- Basic Research in Industrial Labs. (2-hour session)

Patrick Perez (VALEO)

https://ptrckprz.github.io/

patrick.perez@valeo.com

Tapping into my experience in three different industries (software, cinema and automotive), I will evoke the rationale and the challenges of exploratory research in private labs. I will in particular discuss: open vs. closed research (papers, codes and data); push vs. pull tech transfers; academic collaborations; intellectual property; organizational hurdles. Along the way, I will evoke successful experiences of transfers from basic research to deployed products, and some others less successful.

- First steps and best practices in research (2-hour session)

David Gesbert (EURECOM)

https://www.eurecom.fr/cm/gesbert

david.gesbert@eurecom.fr

This 2-hour and hopefully interactive talk is intended to all students with a curiosity for research as a possible initial career path. The speaker will address a range of questions such as why/when do a PhD? How to make the most of it? What are good practices when starting with research? What is creativity? How to write successful research papers? The talk is relevant for students who are wondering about what it takes (and gives!) to embark in a PhD. It is designed to trigger discussions and will contain an open Q/A session.

The Cifre fellowship: the French industrial PhD programme(1-hour session)

Guilhem Luc FRESCALINE (ANRT)

frescaline@anrt.asso.fr

For the past 40 years, the French Ministry of Higher Education and Research has been funding the specific doctoral Cifre programme within a public-private partnership framework. The Cifre fellow signs a 3 years full time work contract with a French company with a minimum gross annual salary of € 23,484 (average superior to 30 000 euros in 2020). The Cifre fellow complete his thesis under supervision by academic supervisor while enrolled each year in doctoral school.

- Round table with all speakers (1 hour)

Each attendee will be invited to submit (at least) one question to one speaker. A moderator will sort and compile questions.

- Review a scientific article & discuss with a doctoral student co-author

 

A list of conference articles will be proposed to attendees of the course.  The list will include articles co-authored by Ph.D students from EURECOM.  Attendees will have to pick one, to read it and to fill and return a simplified reviewing form.  Attendees will then have a tele-conference with the co-author (between 15 and 60 minutes) to discuss about the history and content of the article.

 

Learning outcomes:

  • To get familiar with what is a Ph.D;
  • To make the difference between research in industry and in academia.

Grading:

  • Attendees must participate to all talks, submit the reviewing form, have a discussion with a Ph.D student and propose a question for the round table.  If all criteria are met, the attendee would obtain 1,5 ECTS.

Sensibilisation à la recherche

AwaRe
Abstract
L'objectif de ce cours est de familiariser les étudiants de master avec la communauté des chercheurs, tant du milieu universitaire que de l'industrie.
 
Plusieurs intervenants de différents horizons expliqueront leur motivation à avoir choisi de faire un doctorat et partageront leur expérience personnelle accumulée depuis lors au cours de leur carrière. Le cours comprendra plusieurs sessions de questions/réponses, la sélection et la lecture d'un article scientifique co-écrit par un jeune chercheur.L'objectif de ce cours est de familiariser les étudiants de Master avec la communauté de la recherche, tant académique qu'industrielle.
 
Plusieurs intervenants de différents horizons expliqueront leur motivation à avoir choisi de faire un doctorat et partageront leur expérience personnelle accumulée depuis lors au cours de leur carrière. Le cours comprendra plusieurs sessions de questions-réponses, la sélection et la lecture d'un article scientifique co-écrit par un jeune chercheur.
 

Description
La liste des conférences :
 
- Qu'est-ce qu'un doctorat, pourquoi faire un doctorat, les mythes (session d'une heure)
 
Marios Kountouris (EURECOM)
 
 
 
Qu'est-ce qu'un doctorat ? Vous êtes-vous déjà demandé si vous " deviez " obtenir un doctorat ou non ? Cette conférence abordera les raisons les plus courantes de le faire, ainsi que les avantages qu'un doctorat peut vous apporter. Elle examinera les faits, les statistiques et les mythes relatifs au doctorat et expliquera comment (et où) s'embarquer dans un voyage de doctorat ?
 
- De la recherche académique à une startup (session d'une heure)
 
Arnaud Legout (INRIA)
 
 
 
L'orateur est chercheur à l'Inria. Cependant, il a fait des pauses académiques pour créer deux startups. Il présentera son parcours à partir de son master 1, expliquera pourquoi il a fait une thèse de doctorat, comment cela aide à créer des startups, pourquoi il a fait une carrière académique, et quels sont les liens entre la recherche académique et les startups.
 
- La recherche fondamentale dans les laboratoires industriels. (session de 2 heures)
 
Patrick Perez (VALEO)
 
 
 
En m'appuyant sur mon expérience dans trois industries différentes (logiciel, cinéma et automobile), j'évoquerai la raison d'être et les défis de la recherche exploratoire dans les laboratoires privés. Je discuterai en particulier des sujets suivants : recherche ouverte ou fermée (articles, codes et données) ; transferts de technologie "push" ou "pull" ; collaborations universitaires ; propriété intellectuelle ; obstacles organisationnels. En cours de route, j'évoquerai des expériences réussies de transferts de la recherche fondamentale vers des produits déployés, et d'autres moins réussies.
 
- Premières étapes et meilleures pratiques en matière de recherche (session de 2 heures)
 
David Gesbert (EURECOM)
 
 
 
Cet exposé de deux heures, que l'on espère interactif, s'adresse à tous les étudiants qui ont une curiosité pour la recherche en tant qu'orientation professionnelle initiale possible. L'orateur abordera une série de questions telles que : pourquoi/quand faire un doctorat ? Comment en tirer le meilleur parti ? Quelles sont les bonnes pratiques pour débuter dans la recherche ? Qu'est-ce que la créativité ? Comment rédiger des articles de recherche réussis ? La conférence s'adresse aux étudiants qui s'interrogent sur ce qu'il faut (et ce qu'il faut donner !) pour se lancer dans un doctorat. Elle est conçue pour déclencher des discussions et comprendra une session ouverte de questions/réponses.
 
La bourse Cifre : le programme de doctorat industriel français (session d'une heure)
 
Guilhem Luc FRESCALINE (ANRT)
 
 
Depuis 40 ans, le ministère français de l'Enseignement supérieur et de la Recherche finance le programme spécifique de doctorat Cifre dans le cadre d'un partenariat public-privé. Le boursier Cifre signe un contrat de travail de 3 ans à temps plein avec une entreprise française avec un salaire annuel brut minimum de 23 484 euros (supérieur en moyenne à 30 000 euros en 2020). Le boursier Cifre réalise sa thèse sous la supervision d'un directeur académique tout en étant inscrit chaque année à l'école doctorale.
 
- Table ronde avec tous les intervenants (1 heure)
 
Chaque participant sera invité à soumettre (au moins) une question à un orateur. Un modérateur triera et compilera les questions.
 
- Examen d'un article scientifique et discussion avec un doctorant co-auteur
 
 
Une liste d'articles de conférence sera proposée aux participants du cours.  La liste comprendra des articles co-rédigés par des doctorants d'EURECOM.  Les participants devront en choisir un, le lire et remplir et renvoyer un formulaire d'évaluation simplifié.  Les participants auront ensuite une téléconférence avec le co-auteur (entre 15 et 60 minutes) pour discuter de l'histoire et du contenu de l'article.
 

 

Traduit avec www.DeepL.com/Translator (version gratuite)

 

Résultats d'apprentissage :

  • Se familiariser avec ce qu'est un doctorat ;
  • Faire la différence entre la recherche dans l'industrie et dans le milieu universitaire.

Evaluation:

  • Les participants doivent participer à toutes les conférences, soumettre le formulaire d'évaluation, avoir une discussion avec un doctorant et proposer une question pour la table ronde.  Si tous les critères sont remplis, le participant obtiendra 1,5 ECTS.