# *Editorial* Selected Papers from MultiMedia Modeling Conference 2009

## Benoit Huet,<sup>1</sup> Alan F. Smeaton,<sup>2</sup> Ketan Mayer-Patel,<sup>3</sup> and Yannis Avrithis (EURASIP Member)<sup>4</sup>

<sup>1</sup> EURECOM, 2229 Route des crêtes, 06904 Sophia-Antipolis, France

<sup>2</sup> Centre for Sensor Web Technologies, Dublin, City University, Glasnevin, Dublin 9, Ireland

<sup>3</sup> Department of Computer Science, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC 27599, USA

<sup>4</sup> Image, Video & Multimedia Systems Laboratory, School of Electrical & Computer Engineering, National Technical

University of Athens, 9, Iroon Polytechniou Str., 157 73 Zographou, Athens, Greece

Correspondence should be addressed to Benoit Huet, benoit.huet@eurecom.fr

Received 17 March 2010; Accepted 17 March 2010

Copyright © 2010 Benoit Huet et al. This is an open access article distributed under the Creative Commons Attribution License, which permits unrestricted use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original work is properly cited.

The 15th International Multimedia Modeling Conference (MMM2009) was held on January 7–9, 2009 at EURECOM, Sophia-Antipolis, France. MMM is a leading international conference for researchers and industry practitioners to share their new ideas, original research results, and practical development experiences from all multimedia-related areas. MMM2009 is held in co-operation with the ACM Special Interest Group on MultiMedia (ACM SIGMM). This 15th edition of MMM marks the return of the conference to Europe after numerous years of activity in Asia, and we are proud to have organized such a prestigious conference on the French Riviera.

MMM2009 featured a comprehensive program including three keynote talks, six oral presentation sessions, three poster sessions, and one demo session. The 135 submissions included a large number of high-quality papers in multimedia content analysis, indexing, coding, as well as applications and services. We thank our 153 Technical Program Committee members and reviewers who spent many hours reviewing papers and providing valuable feedbacks to the authors. Based on the 3 or 4 (sometimes even 5) initial reviews per paper, the Program Chairs decided to accept only 22 as oral papers and 20 as poster papers. The overall acceptance rate of 32% follows the MMM tradition of accepting only the papers of the highest technical quality. Additionally, one award for the Best Paper was chosen.

This special issue presents some of the best papers submitted and presented at the conference. Indeed only those papers among the shortlisted for the MMM2009 Best Paper Award were invited to submit an extended paper to this special issue. All the papers published here have been subject to a set of reviews on three separate occasions. The first was during the reviewing process for preparing the program of the conference, the second for determining the Best Paper Award, and the third following the usual reviewing process of the EURASIP Journal on Image and Video Processing. The six papers that made it through the final reviewing stage cover the two major multimedia modeling themes addressed by the conference, namely, Multimedia Content Analysis and Multimedia Signal Processing and Communications.

## Acknowlegment

The authors would like to thank all the reviewers for their hard work and fruitful comments which have allowed them to put together such a high-quality special issue. Their contribution is much appreciated.

> Benoit Huet Alan F. Smeaton Ketan Mayer-Patel Yannis Avrithis



## Preliminary call for papers

The 2011 European Signal Processing Conference (EUSIPCO-2011) is the nineteenth in a series of conferences promoted by the European Association for Signal Processing (EURASIP, <u>www.eurasip.org</u>). This year edition will take place in Barcelona, capital city of Catalonia (Spain), and will be jointly organized by the Centre Tecnològic de Telecomunicacions de Catalunya (CTTC) and the Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (UPC).

EUSIPCO-2011 will focus on key aspects of signal processing theory and applications as listed below. Acceptance of submissions will be based on quality, relevance and originality. Accepted papers will be published in the EUSIPCO proceedings and presented during the conference. Paper submissions, proposals for tutorials and proposals for special sessions are invited in, but not limited to, the following areas of interest.

#### **Areas of Interest**

- Audio and electro-acoustics.
- Design, implementation, and applications of signal processing systems.
- Multimedia signal processing and coding.
- Image and multidimensional signal processing.
- Signal detection and estimation.
- Sensor array and multi-channel signal processing.
- Sensor fusion in networked systems.
- Signal processing for communications.
- Medical imaging and image analysis.
- Non-stationary, non-linear and non-Gaussian signal processing.

#### **Submissions**

Procedures to submit a paper and proposals for special sessions and tutorials will be detailed at <u>www.eusipco2011.org</u>. Submitted papers must be camera-ready, no more than 5 pages long, and conforming to the standard specified on the EUSIPCO 2011 web site. First authors who are registered students can participate in the best student paper competition.

### **Important Deadlines:**



Proposals for special sessions	15 Dec 2010
Proposals for tutorials	18 Feb 2011
Electronic submission of full papers	21 Feb 2011
Notification of acceptance	23 May 2011
Submission of camera-ready papers	6 Jun 2011

Webpage: www.eusipco2011.org

#### **Organizing Committee**

Honorary Chair Miguel A. Lagunas (CTTC)

*General Chair* Ana I. Pérez-Neira (UPC)

*General Vice-Chair* Carles Antón-Haro (CTTC)

*Technical Program Chair* Xavier Mestre (CTTC)

*Technical Program Co-Chairs* Javier Hernando (UPC) Montserrat Pardàs (UPC)

*Plenary Talks* Ferran Marqués (UPC) Yonina Eldar (Technion)

*Special Sessions* Ignacio Santamaría (Unversidad de Cantabria) Mats Bengtsson (KTH)

*Finances* Montserrat Nájar (UPC)

*Tutorials* Daniel P. Palomar (Hong Kong UST) Beatrice Pesquet-Popescu (ENST)

**Publicity** Stephan Pfletschinger (CTTC) Mònica Navarro (CTTC)

**Publications** Antonio Pascual (UPC) Carles Fernández (CTTC)

Industrial Liaison & Exhibits Angeliki Alexiou (University of Piraeus) Albert Sitjà (CTTC)

International Liaison Ju Liu (Shandong University-China) Jinhong Yuan (UNSW-Australia) Tamas Sziranyi (SZTAKI -Hungary) Rich Stern (CMU-USA) Ricardo L. de Queiroz (UNB-Brazil)



