Graduate School and Research Center In communication systems

Ayse UNSAL

Ayse UNSAL
Ayse UNSAL
Eurecom - Mobile Communications 
PhD Student
04 93 00 82 07
04 93 00 82 00
326

Thesis

Transmission of Analog Source Samples for Remote and Distributed Sensing

Responsible(s)

  • KNOPP, Raymond

This thesis considers transmission of sporadic random samples in three scenarios which can be summarized as a single source with remote sensing, dual and multiple source cases with distributed and remote sensing. The protocol and the transmission strategy is reminiscent of reverse ARQ protocols appearing in different contexts in the literature and we show how it can be used for energy-limited sensors making use of future broadband cellular networks. To begin with, a low-latency, two-way parameter modulation-estimation protocol for wide-band channels which is inspired by the classical scheme in [1] is presented and analyzed in terms of its asymptotic behaviour with non-coherent detection on both pure line-of sight and more general fading channels. The proposed scheme as well as known one-way schemes are compared with classical [2, 3] and very recent lower bounds [4]. Both the bounds and performance evaluation of the two-way protocol are extended to a multi-channel fading model. The improvement of the feedback protocol over one-shot transmission is shown to be very significant on both line-of-sight and fading channels.

 

We proceed with introducing lower bounds on the reconstruction error for transmission of two continuous correlated random vectors sent over a sum channel using the help of two causal feedback links from the decoder to the encoders connected to each sensor. This construction is considered for both for uniformly and normally distributed and correlated sources. Additionally, the novel single-source protocol from the first part described above is extended to the dual-source case again both for uniformly and normally distributed sources. The asymptotic performance of the protocol is analyzed and an upper bound on the distortion level is derived for two rounds considering the extreme case of high correlation among the sources for each distribution. It is shown by both the upper and lower-bounds that collaboration can be achieved through energy accumulation. Analytical results are supported by numerical analysis to show the improvement in terms of distortion to be gained by retransmission subject to the average energy used by protocol.

 

Lastly, lower bounds are derived for the reconstruction error of a single normally or uniformly-distributed finite-dimensional vector imperfectly measured by a network of sensors and transmitted with finite energy to a common receiver via an additive white Gaussian noise asynchronous multiple access channel. Transmission makes use of a perfect causal feedback link to the encoder connected to each sensor. The retransmission protocol from the first part is further extended to this more general network scenario, for which asymptotic upper-bounds on the reconstruction error are provided. Both the upper and lower-bounds show that collaboration can

be achieved through energy accumulation under certain circumstances. In order to investigate the practical performance of the proposed retransmission protocol we provide a numerical evaluation of the upper-bounds in the non-asymptotic energy regime using low-order quantization in the sensors. It is shown through numerical evaluation that an increase in the size of the network brings benefit in terms of performance, but that the gain in terms of energy efficiency diminishes quickly at finite energies due to a non-coherent combining loss.

Search



Additional info

Profiles

Ecole d'ingénieur et centre de recherche en télécommunications

Ayse UNSAL

Ayse UNSAL
Ayse UNSAL
Eurecom - Communications Mobiles 
Doctorant
04 93 00 82 07
04 93 00 82 00
326

Thèse

Méthodes de Transmission d?échantillons continus pour les réseaux de capteurs

Responsable(s)

  • KNOPP, Raymond

Cette thèse porte sur la transmission d’échantillons aléatoires et intempestifs pour trois scenarios de réseaux sans-fils. Le premier est un canal point-a-point avec un capteur à distance, le deuxième un canal a accès-multiple avec deux observations corrélées provenant de deux capteurs à distance et finalement un canal a accès-multiple avec de multiples observations bruitées du même échantillon. Le protocole de transmission étudie dans les trois cas ressemble à un protocole de retransmission (ARQ) inversé qui a paru dans la littérature dans des contextes différents. Ce type de protocole trouve son origine dans le schéma classique propose dans [1]. Il est montre dans cette thèse que ce type de protocole pourrait être applique pour la transmission de capteurs à énergie limitée sur les futurs réseaux cellulaires (5G). Premièrement, un protocole bidirectionnel à faible latence pour la modulation-estimation à travers des canaux large-bande est présenté et par la suite analyse en terme de sa performance asymptotique avec la détection non-cohérente.  Cette analyse est faite pour des canaux de propagation sans évanouissements ainsi que pour des canaux plus généraux avec évanouissements. La performance de la méthode choisie est comparée avec des bornes inferieures classiques [2,3] et d’autres plus serrées qui ont paru très récemment dans la littérature[4]. Nous constatons que l’amélioration amenée par le protocole proposée est très importante sur les deux types de canaux de propagation.   

 

Nous continuons par le développement de bornes inférieures sur l’erreur de reconstructions pour la transmission de deux vecteurs aléatoires corrélés à travers un canal à accès-multiples additif prenant compte de deux liens de retours causaux entre les deux décodeurs et les encodeurs attachés à chaque capteur. Ce problème est considéré à la fois pour des statistiques uniformes et gaussiennes. De plus, le nouveau protocole de la première partie de cette thèse est généralise pour ce cas, encore pour des sources gaussiennes et uniformes. La performance asymptotique du protocole est analysé et une borne supérieure sur la distorsion à la reconstruction est présentée pour une transmission en deux rondes. Nous montrons à l’aide des deux bornes que la collaboration peut être atteinte à travers une accumulation d’énergie provenant des deux transmetteurs. Les résultats analytiques sont renforces par une analyse numérique afin de démontrer l’amélioration amenée par le protocole de transmission dans le régime non-asymptotique.

 

Finalement, des bornes inférieures sur l’erreur de reconstruction pour la transmission d’un vecteur de dimension finie mesurée de manière imparfaite par un réseaux de capteurs sont présentées. La transmission utilise une liaison de retour causal parfaite vers l’encodeur de chaque capteur.  Le protocole de la première partie est modifiée pour ce scenario plus général et des bornes supérieures sur l’erreur de reconstruction de la source commune sont présentées. Les deux bornes montrent que la collaboration en terme d’accumulation d’énergie peut être atteinte sous certaines conditions. Afin de caractériser la performance dans le régime non-asymptotique et avec un niveau de quantification réduite dans les capteurs, nous proposons une analyse numérique du schéma considéré. Nous montrons que la performance s’améliore en augmentant la taille du réseau, mais que cette amélioration en termes d’efficacité énergétique diminue rapidement aux énergies finies à cause d’une perte due à la combinaison non-cohérente des signaux.  

Rechercher



Informations additionnelles

Profils