Graduate School and Research Center In communication systems

Thrasyvoulos SPYROPOULOS

Thrasyvoulos SPYROPOULOS
Thrasyvoulos SPYROPOULOS
Eurecom - Mobile Communications 
Assistant-Professor
04 93 00 81 89
04 93 00 82 00
343

Research

Current research topics

  • Performance Analysis and Modeling
  • Mobile Data Offloading
  • Small Cell Networks
  • Distributed Caching
  • Cognitive Networks
  • Delay Tolerant Networks
  • Mobility Modeling
  • Intelligent Transportation Systems
  • Social Networks
  • Traffic Classification

Current research interests

  • His general interests revolve around the application of different mathematical tools and/or cross-disciplinary approaches to solve or better understand difficult networking problems.

  • The analytical tools used include stochastic modeling, queueing theory, transient analysis of random walks, fluid approximations and mean-field analysis, statistical learning theory, complex network analysis, and graph theory, while the areas of application are Delay Tolerant Networks, Mobile Data Offloading, Small Cell Networks, Distributed Caching, Mobility Modeling, Intelligent Transportation Systems, Social Networks, and Traffic Classification.

  • His recent research efforts include: (i) the study of macroscopic (long term) properties of human and vehicular mobility, and their links to social network analysis, (ii) performance analysis and optimization (iii) traffic classification using flow data.

Current research memberships

  • He is a member of the IEEE and ACM associations.
  • He has served in the Technical Program Committee of major IEEE and ACM conference (SECON, INFOCOM, MOBIHOC, SIGMETRICS, and others), and is regular reviewer for Transactions on Networking and Transactions on Mobile Computing.
  • He has also been the program co-chair for the IFIP IWSOS 2009, ACM CHANTS 2013, and IEEE NetSciCom 2014.

Selected publications

Search




Distinctions

  • His is the recipient of the Best Paper Award for the IEEE conference on Sensor and Ad Hoc Communications and Networks 2008, the Best Paper Award for IEEE WoWMoM 2012, and a runner-up for the best paper award for ACM MOBIHOC 2011.

Ecole d'ingénieur et centre de recherche en télécommunications

Thrasyvoulos SPYROPOULOS

Thrasyvoulos SPYROPOULOS
Thrasyvoulos SPYROPOULOS
Eurecom - Communications Mobiles 
Maître de Conférences
04 93 00 81 89
04 93 00 82 00
343

Recherche

Sujets de recherche

  • Analyse de performance et de modélisation
  • Déchargement de données mobiles
  • Réseaux de petites cellules
  • Mise en cache distribuée
  • Réseaux cognitifs
  • Réseaux tolérants aux délais
  • Modélisation de mobilité
  • Systèmes de transport intelligents
  • Réseaux sociaux
  • Classification du trafic

Intérêts de recherche

  • Ses intérêts s'articulent autour de l'application des différents outils mathématiques et/ou des approches multidisciplinaires pour résoudre, ou au mieux comprendre les problèmes de réseaux difficiles
  • Les outils analytiques utilisés incluent la modélisation stochastique, l'analyse des files d'attente, l'analyse transitoire de marches aléatoires, les approximations de fluides, l'analyse de champ moyen, la théorie de l'apprentissage statistique, l'analyse de réseaux complexes, et la théorie des graphes, alors que les domaines d'application sont les réseaux tolérants aux délais, la modélisation de la mobilité, les systèmes de transport intelligents, les réseaux sociaux, et la classification du trafic.
  • Ses efforts de recherche récents comprennent : (i) l'étude (à long terme) des propriétés macroscopiques de la mobilité humaine et des véhicules, et leurs liens avec l'analyse des réseaux sociaux, (ii) l'analyse des performances pour l'optimisation des réseaux, et la classification du trafic (iii) à l'aide des données de flux

Membre

  • Il est membre des associations IEEE et ACM
  • Il a siégé au sein du Comité de programme technique des grandes conférences IEEE et ACM (SECON, INFOCOM, MOBIHOC, SIGMETRICS et autres), et est critique régulier pour le journal d'IEEE/ACM "Transactions on Networking" et le journal "Transactions on Mobile Computing"
  • Il a également été le co-président du programme d'IFIP IWSOS 2009, ACM CHANTS 2013, et IEEE NetSciCom 2014.

Sélection de publications

Rechercher




Distinctions

  • Il est la récipiendaire du Best Paper Award pour la conférence IEEE Sensor and Ad Hoc Communications and Networks 2008, il a reçu le Best Paper Award pour IEEE WoWMoM 2012, et finit deuxième pour le Best Paper Award à ACM MOBIHOC 2011.