Graduate School and Research Center In communication systems

Rui MIN

Rui MIN
Rui MIN
Eurecom - Multimedia Communications 
Phd Student ( 2010 - 2013)
Alumni EURECOM

Thesis

Face Recognition Robust to Occlusions

Responsible(s)

 

Face recognition is an important technology in computer vision, which often acts as an essential component in biometrics systems, HCI systems, access control systems, multimedia indexing applications, etc. In recent years, identification of subjects in non-controlled scenarios has received large amount of attentions from the biometrics research community. The deployment of real-time and robust face recognition systems can significantly reinforce the safety and security in public places or/and private residences. However, variations due to expressions/illuminations/poses/occlusions can significantly deteriorate the performance of face recognition systems in non-controlled environments. Partial occlusion, which significantly changes the appearance of part of a face, cannot only cause large performance deterioration of face recognition, but also can cause severe security issues.

In this thesis, we focus on the occlusion problem in automatic face recognition in non-controlled environments. Toward this goal, we propose a framework that consists of applying explicit occlusion analysis and processing to improve face recognition under different occlusion conditions. We demonstrate in this thesis that the proposed framework is more efficient than the methods based on non-explicit occlusion treatments from the literature. We identify two new types of facial occlusions, namely the sparse occlusion and dynamic occlusion. Solutions are presented to handle the identified occlusion problems in more advanced surveillance context. Recently, the emerging Kinect sensor has been successfully applied in many computer vision fields. We introduce this new sensor in the context of face recognition, particularly in presence of occlusions, and demonstrate its efficiency compared with traditional 2D cameras. Finally, we propose two approaches based on 2D and 3D to improve the baseline face recognition techniques. Improving the baseline methods can also have the positive impact on the recognition results when partial occlusion occurs.

 In this thesis, occlusion-robust face recognitions are proposed for different scenarios, so that identification of subjects in non-controlled environments (i.e. video surveillance) becomes more robust in practical conditions.

Ecole d'ingénieur et centre de recherche en télécommunications

Rui MIN

Rui MIN
Rui MIN
Eurecom - Communications Multimédia 
Doctorant ( 2010 - 2013)
Alumni EURECOM

Thèse

Reconnaissance de Visage Robuste aux Occultations

Responsable(s)

 

La reconnaissance faciale est une technologie importante en vision par ordinateur, avec un rôle central en biométrie, interface homme-machine, contrôle d’accès, indexation multimédia, etc. Au cours de ces dernières années, l’identification d’individus dans des scenarii non contrôlés, a attiré l’attention de la communauté des chercheurs en biométrie. Le déploiement de systèmes temps-réel et robuste de reconnaissance faciale  peut augmenter de manière significative la sureté et sécurité des espaces publics ou privés. Cependant, les variabilités liées aux expressions/illuminations/poses/occultations peuvent dégrader sensiblement les performances d’un système de reconnaissance en environnements non contrôlés. L’occultation partielle, qui change complétement l’apparence d’une partie du visage, ne provoque pas uniquement une dégradation des performances en reconnaissance faciale, mai peut aussi avoir des conséquences en termes de sécurité.

Dans cette thèse, nous nous concentrons sur le problème des occultations en reconnaissance faciale en environnements non contrôlés. Pour cela, nous proposons une séquence qui consiste à analyser de manière explicite les occultations et à fiabiliser la reconnaissance faciale soumises à diverses occultations. Nous montrons dans cette thèse que l’approche proposée est plus efficace que les méthodes de l’état de l’art opérant sans traitement explicite dédié aux occultations. Nous identifions deux nouveaux types d’occultations, à savoir éparses et dynamiques. Des solutions sont introduites pour gérer ces problèmes d’occultation nouvellement identifiés dans un contexte de vidéo surveillance avancé. Récemment, le nouveau capteur Kinect a été utilisé avec succès dans de nombreuses applications en vision par ordinateur. Nous introduisons ce nouveau capteur dans le contexte de la reconnaissance faciale, en particulier en présence d’occultations, et démontrons son efficacité par rapport aux caméras traditionnelles. Finalement, nous proposons deux approches basées 2D et 3D permettant d’améliorer les techniques de base en reconnaissance de visages. L’amélioration des méthodes de base peut alors générer un impact positif sur les résultats de reconnaissance en présence d’occultations.

Dans cette thèse, des techniques de reconnaissance  de visages robustes aux occultations sont proposés pour divers scenarii, de telle sorte que l’identification d’objets en environnements non contrôlés (i.e. vidéo surveillance) devient plus robuste en conditions réelles.