Graduate School and Research Center In communication systems

Patrick LOISEAU

Patrick LOISEAU
Patrick LOISEAU
Eurecom - Data Science 
Assistant professor
04 93 00 81 47
04 93 00 82 00
427

Teaching

         

My courses

  • G_Theory / Fall 2016 - Game Theory

     

     This course is an introduction to game theory. Game theory studies interactions of agents whose objectives depend on others actions and not only theirs. It permits to model and understand many real-world strategic interactions, e.g., in economics. The course introduces the main concepts of game theory (Nash equilibrium, etc.) and illustrates them with examples from economics, political sciences, computer science, engineering, etc.

    Teaching and Learning Methods : Each class will have approximately two hours of lecture followed by an exercise session for students to practice the material learned.

    Course Policies : Attendance to the exercise sessions is mandatory

  • NetEcon / Fall 2016 - Network Economics

    Economics and incentives consideration govern in large part the development and actual performance of networks and digital services. The objective of this course is to raise awareness of students on these questions and how to solve them. The course will introduce a number of modern research challenge in economic analysis of networks and network-related services (web, security, etc.) and show how mathematical methods based on game theory are used to address them.

    Teaching and Learning Methods : The course will contain a number of lectures as well as projects where students read and analyze a research article on a topic complementary to those presented in class

    Course Policies : Attendance to all lectures and student presentations is mandatory

  • Stat / Fall 2016 - Statistical data analysis

    This course is an introduction to statistics. The goal is to provide students with simple and efficient statistical methods to analyze data in order to answer questions such as: 'Is this performance improvement significant?', 'What is the uncertainty on that result?', 'How can I predict a new output of my system based on measurements?', 'Which factors have a significant impact on the performance of my system?', and more ; as well as to familiarize the students with statistical reasoning to mathematically analyze the methods presented.

    Teaching and Learning Methods : The course has theoretical lectures complemented by labs for students to practice statistics and data analysis (using the MATLAB software), and homeworks for students to fully assimilate the material.

    Course Policies : Attendance to the exercise session / labs is mandatory

Ecole d'ingénieur et centre de recherche en télécommunications

Patrick LOISEAU

Patrick LOISEAU
Patrick LOISEAU
Eurecom - Data Science 
Maître de conférences
04 93 00 81 47
04 93 00 82 00
427

Enseignement

        

Mes cours

  • G_Theory / Automne 2016 - Théorie des Jeux

    Ce cours est une introduction à la théorie des jeux. La théorie des jeux étudie les interactions entre agents dont les objectifs dépendent des actions des autres et non seulement des leurs. Elle permet de modéliser et de comprendre de nombreuses interactions stratégiques dans le monde réel, par exemple en économie. Ce cours introduit les principaux concepts de la théorie des jeux (équilibre de Nash, etc.) et les illustrent à partir d'exemples tirés de l'économie, des sciences politiques, de l'informatique, de l'ingénierie, etc.

    Enseignement et méthodes d'apprentissage : Chaque classe contient environ deux heures de cours magistral suivies par une séance d'exercices pour faciliter l'assimilation des notions.

    Règles du cours : La participation aux sessions d’exercises est obligatoire. 

  • NetEcon / Automne 2016 - Economie des réseaux

    Les considérations économiques gouverne en grande partie le développement et les performances réelles des réseaux et des services digitaux. L'objectif de ce cours est de sensibiliser les étudiants à ces questions et aux méthodes utiles pour les résoudre. Le cours introduira un certain nombre de sujets de recherche modernes en lien avec l'analyse économique des réseaux et des services basés sur les réseaux (web, sécurité, etc.), et montrera comment les méthodes mathématiques basées sur la théorie des jeux sont utilisées pour les aborder.

    Enseignement et méthodes d'apprentissage: Le cours comprend des leçons ainsi que des projets où les étudiants lisent et analysent un article de recherche sur un sujet complémentaire par rapport aux leçons.

    Règles du cours : Tous les cours et toutes les présentations d'étudiants sont obligatoires

  • Stat / Automne 2016 - Analyse statistique de données

    Ce cours est une introduction aux statistiques. L'objectif est de donner aux étudiants des méthodes statistiques simples et efficaces pour analyser des données afin de répondre à des questions telles que : 'Est-ce que cette amélioration de performance est significative ?', 'Quelle est l'incertitude sur ce résultat ?', 'Comment puis-je prédire le résultat d'une nouvelle observation de mon système à partir de mesures passées ?', 'Quels facteurs ont un impact significatif sur la performance de mon système ?', et d'autres ; ainsi que de familiariser les étudiants avec le raisonnement statistiques pour l’analyse mathématique de ces méthodes.

    Enseignement et métodes d'apprentissage : Le cours a des leçons théoriques complémentées par des TP pour que les étudiants puissent pratiquer les statistiques et l'analyse de données (avec le logiciel MATLAB) et des devoirs à la maison pour que les étudiants puissent assimiler complètement les différentes notions abordées. 

    Règles du cours : La participation aux session d’exercises / lab est obligatoire