Graduate School and Research Center In communication systems


Eurecom - Networking and Security 
Phd Student
04 93 00 82 76
04 93 00 82 00


Towards Uncovering BGP Hijacking Attacks


The Internet is composed of hundreds of thousands Autonomous Systems (ASes) that exchange routing information using the Border Gateway Protocol (BGP). Consequently, every AS implicitly trusts every other ASes to provide accurate routing information. Prefix hijacking is an attack against the inter-domain routing infrastructure that abuses mutual trust in order to propagate fallacious routes. The current detection techniques pathologically raise a large number of alerts, mostly composed of false positives resulting from benign routing practices.
In this Dissertation, we seek the root cause of routing events beyond reasonable doubts. First, we reduce the global number of alerts by analyzing false positive alerts, from which we extract constructs that reflect real-world standard routing practices. We then consider the security threat associated with these constructs in a prefix hijacking scenario. Second, we use a variety of auxiliary datasets that reflect distinct facets of the networks involved in a suspicious routing event in order to closely approximate the ground-truth, which is traditionally only known by the network owner.
Specifically, we investigate Multiple Origin AS (MOAS) prefixes, and introduce a classification that we use to discard up to 80% of false positive. Then we show a real-world case where a MOAS coincided with spam and web scam traffic. We look at prefix overlaps, clarify their global use, and present a prototype that discards around 50% of false positive sub-MOAS alerts. Finally, we explore the IP blackspace, study the routing-level characteristics of those networks, find live IP addresses, and uncover a large amount of spam and scam activities.


Additional info

Ecole d'ingénieur et centre de recherche en télécommunications

Quentin JACQUEMART

Quentin JACQUEMART
Quentin JACQUEMART
Eurecom - Sécurité numérique 
Doctorant ( 2011 - 2015)
Alumni EURECOM

Thèse

Déceler les attaques par détournement BGP

Responsable(s)

Internet est constitué de milliers de systèmes autonomes (Autonomous Systems, AS) qui échangent des informations de routage grâce au protocole BGP (Border Gateway Protocol). Chaque AS attend des autres qu'il lui donne des informations de routage correctes, et leur accorde donc une confiance totale. Le détournement de préfixe (prefix hijacking) exploite cette confiance afin d'introduire des routes falsifiées. Les techniques qui détectent cette attaque génèrent un nombre important d'alertes, composé de faux positifs résultant d'opérations de routage courantes.
 
Dans cette dissertation, nous cherchons à trouver la cause principale de ces alertes, de manière indubitable. A cette fin, d'une part, nous réduisons le nombre d'alertes en analysant en profondeur ces réseaux, dont nous dérivons une série de structures qui reflètent les pratiques standard de routage du monde réel, et en considérant le risque associé à ces structures lors une attaque par détournement. D'autre part, nous utilisons des bases de données auxiliaires qui nous permettent de connaître la raison derrière un évènement de routage, qui n'est, en général, connue que du propriétaire du réseau.
 
Précisément, nous regardons les préfixes à origines multiples (Multiple Origin AS, MOAS), et mettons en évidence une classification nous permettant d'éliminer 80% des alertes. Nous présentons un cas réel où un MOAS coïncide avec du spam et des sites d'arnaque en ligne. Nous étudions les préfixes non-disjoints, et présentons un prototype permettant d'éliminer 50% des alertes sub-MOAS. Nous explorons l'espace IP non assigné, cherchons des adresses IP joignables, et localisons une grande quantité de spam et des sites d'arnaques en ligne.

Rechercher



Informations additionnelles

Profils