Graduate School and Research Center In communication systems

Nicholas EVANS

Nicholas EVANS
Nicholas EVANS
Eurecom - Multimedia Communications 
Assistant-Professor
04 93 00 81 14
04 93 00 82 00
419

Research

Current research topics

  • Speaker diarization, speaker recognition, biometric spoofing countermeasures, multimodal biometrics, acoustic echo cancellation and speech enhancement.

Current research interests

  • His current research interests include speaker diarization, speaker recognition, biometric spoofing countermeasures, multimodal biometrics, acoustic echo cancellation and speech enhancement.
  • Over recent years he has participated, with notable success, in the internationally competitive Rich Transcription Evaluations in speaker diarization that are administered by the National Institute of Standards and Technology NIST) in the US.
  • He participates in the EU FP7 «TABULA RASA» project and the joint-national «Adaptable Ambient Living Assistant» (ALIAS) project, co-funded by the EU and the national French Research Agency (ANR) through the Ambient Assisted Living (AAL) programme (ref: AAL-2009-2-049)

Current research memberships

  • He is a member of ISCA, EURASIP, IEEE and its signal processing society
  • He serves regularly as a committee member and reviewer for several international conferences, workshops, and journals and currently serves as an associate editor for the EURASIP Journal on Audio, Speech and Music Processing

Selected publications

Search




Distinctions

  • In Novembre 2013, he has received with his co-authors Xuran Zhao and Jean-Luc Dugelay, the Best Student Paper Award for the article "Unsupervised multi-view dimensionality reduction with application to audio-visual speaker retrieval".
  • N. Evans is the co-author (with R. Vera Rodriguez, R. P. Lewis and J. S. D. Mason) of a paper that received the Best Student Paper Award at the 4th Summer School for Advanced Studies on Biometrics for Secure Authentication: New Technologies and Embedded Systems, 2007

Ecole d'ingénieur et centre de recherche en télécommunications

Nicholas EVANS

Nicholas EVANS
Nicholas EVANS
Eurecom - Communications Multimédia 
Maître de Conférences
04 93 00 81 14
04 93 00 82 00
419

Recherche

Sujets de recherche

  • Regroupement de locuteurs, reconnaissance du locuteur, mesures contre l'usurpation biométrique, biométrie multimodale, annulation d'écho acoustique et amélioration de la parole

Intérêts de recherche

  • Ses intérêts de recherche actuels comprennent le regroupement de locuteurs, la reconnaissance du locuteur, les mesures contre l'usurpation biométrique, la biométrie multimodale, l'annulation d'écho acoustique et l'amélioration de la parole.
  • Ces dernières années, il a participé, avec un succès notable, à diverses évaluations de compétitions internationales "Rich Transcription Evaluations" dans le domaine des regroupement des locuteurs, qui sont administrées par l'Institut National des normes et de la technologie (NIST) aux Etats-Unis.
  • Il participe au projet FP7 « TABULA RASA » de l'Union européenne, et aux projets co-nationaux « Adaptable Ambient Living Assistant » (ALIAS), co-financé par l'UE et l'Agence Nationale de la Recherche (ANR) à travers l' "Ambient Assisted Living" (AAL) programme (ref: AAD-2009-2-049)

Membre

  • Il est membre de l'ISCA, d'EURASIP, d'IEEE et sa société de traitement du signal
  • Il agit régulièrement à titre de membre du comité, et de réviseur pour plusieurs conférences internationales, des ateliers et des revues, et est actuellement rédacteur en chef adjoint du "Journal on Audio, Speech and Music Processing" d'EURASIP

Sélection de publications

Rechercher




Distinctions

  • En Novembre 2013, il a reçu avec ses co-auteurs Xuran Zhao et Jean-Luc Dugelay, le Best Student Paper Award pour l'article "Unsupervised multi-view dimensionality reduction with application to audio-visual speaker retrieval".
  • N. Evans est le co-auteur (avec R. Vera Rodriguez, RP Lewis et JSD Mason) d'un document qui a reçu le prix de la meilleure publication étudiante à la 4ème école d'été d'études avancées sur la biométrie pour l'authentification sécurisée : "Nouvelles Technologies et Systèmes Embarqués", 2007