Graduate School and Research Center In communication systems

Jinyuan CHEN

Jinyuan CHEN
Jinyuan CHEN
Eurecom - Mobile Communications 
Phd Student ( 2010 - 2013)
Alumni EURECOM

Thesis

Communications over the Broadcast Channel with Limited and Delayed Feedback: Fundamental Limits and Novel Encoders and Decoders

Responsible(s)

  

 

In many multiuser wireless communications scenarios, good feedback is a crucial ingredient that facilitates improved performance.  While being useful, perfect feedback is also hard and time-consuming to obtain.  With this challenge as a starting point, the main work seeks to address the simple yet elusive and fundamental question of ``HOW MUCH QUALITY of feedback, AND WHEN, must one send to achieve a certain degrees-of-freedom (DoF) performance in specific settings of multiuser communications''.

 

 

Emphasis is first placed on communications over the two-user multiple-input single-output (MISO) broadcast channel (BC) with imperfect and delayed channel state information at the transmitter (CSIT); a setting for which the work explores the tradeoff between performance, and feedback timeliness and quality. The work considers a broad setting where communication takes place in the presence of a random fading process, and in the presence of a feedback process that, at any point in time, provides CSIT estimates - of some arbitrary quality - for any past, current or future channel realization. Under standard assumptions, the work derives the DoF region, which is optimal for a large regime of sufficiently good (but potentially imperfect) delayed CSIT.  This region concisely captures the effect of channel correlations, the quality of predicted, current, and delayed-CSIT, as well as concisely captures the effect of the quality of CSIT offered at any time, about any channel.

 

The bounds are met with novel schemes which - in the context of imperfect and delayed CSIT - introduce here for the first time, encoding and decoding with a phase-Markov structure. The results hold for a large class of block and non-block fading channel models, and they unify and extend many prior attempts to capture the effect of imperfect and delayed feedback.  This generality also allows for consideration of novel pertinent settings, such as the new periodically evolving feedback setting, where a gradual accumulation of feedback bits progressively improves CSIT as time progresses across a finite coherence period. Then, the work considers the more general settings of the 2-user MIMO BC and IC, as well as the setting of the K-user MISO BC.

 

Further work also considers different aspects of communicating with delayed and limited CSIT, such as the aspect of global CSIR, i.e., with imperfect receiver estimates of the channel of the other receiver, and the aspect of diversity. In addition to the theoretical limits and novel encoders and decoders, the work applies towards gaining insights on practical questions on topics relating to communication with limited and delayed feedback.

Ecole d'ingénieur et centre de recherche en télécommunications

Jinyuan CHEN

Jinyuan CHEN
Jinyuan CHEN
Eurecom - Communications Mobiles 
Doctorant ( 2010 - 2013)
Alumni EURECOM

Thèse

Communication au sein d'un canal de broadcast avec feedback limité et retardé: Limites fondamentales, nouveaux encodeurs et décodeurs

Responsable(s)

Dans de nombreux scénarios de communication sans fil multi-utilisateurs, une bonne rétroaction est un ingrédient essentiel qui facilite une meilleure performance. Tout en étant utile, une rétroaction parfaite est aussi difficile et fastidieux à obtenir. Avec ce défi comme point de départ, les principaux travaux cherchent à répondre à la question simple et pourtant insaisissable et fondamental de la `` COMBIEN est la qualité de la rétroaction, et quand faut-il l’envoyer pour atteindre un certain degré de liberté (DoF) de performance paramètres spécifiques de communications multi-utilisateurs''.

 

 

L'accent est d'abord mis sur la communication sur les deux-utilisateur multi-entrée unique sortie (MISO) canal de diffusion (BC) avec des informations d'état de canal imparfait et retardée à l'émetteur (CSIT), un paramètre dont le travail explore le compromis entre la performance et la rétroaction rapidité et la qualité. Le travail estime un cadre large où la communication a lieu en présence d'un processus de décoloration aléatoire, et en présence d'un processus de rétroaction qui, à n'importe quel point dans le temps, offre CSIT estimations - d'une certaine qualité arbitraire - pour tous passés, actuels ou réalisation du futur canal. Sous les hypothèses habituelles, le travail vient de la région DoF, ce qui est optimal pour un grand régime de suffisamment bonne (mais potentiellement imparfaite) CSIT retardée. Cette région capte de manière concise l'effet des corrélations de canal, la qualité de la valeur prédite, le courant et différé CSIT, ainsi que de façon concise capte l'effet de la qualité de la CSIT offert à n'importe quel moment, sur n'importe quel canal.

 

Les limites sont remplies avec de nouveaux régimes qui - dans le contexte de la CSIT imparfait et retardée – Nous introduisons ici pour la première fois, l'encodage et le décodage d'une structure de phase Markov. Les résultats tiennent pour une large classe de bloc et modèles de canaux fading non-bloc, et qu'elles unifient et s'étendent de nombreuses tentatives antérieures pour capturer l'effet de rétroaction imparfait et retardée. Cette généralité permet également d'examiner les nouveaux paramètres pertinents, tels que le nouveau paramètre de rétroaction évoluer périodiquement, où une accumulation progressive de bits de rétroaction améliore progressivement CSIT que le temps progresse à travers une période de cohérence finie. Ensuite, le travail tient compte des paramètres plus généraux de la 2-user MIMO BC et IC, ainsi que le réglage de la K-utilisateur MISO BC.

 

D'autres travaux considèrent également les différents aspects de la communication avec retard et limitée CSIT, comme l'aspect global du CSIR, c'est à dire, avec des estimations de récepteur imparfaites du canal de l'autre récepteur, et l'aspect de la diversité. En plus des limites théoriques et de nouveaux encodeurs et décodeurs, le travail s'applique à gagner de la perspicacité sur des questions pratiques sur des sujets ayant trait à la communication avec rétroaction limitée et tardive.

Rechercher



Informations additionnelles

Profils