Graduate School and Research Center In communication systems

UML for Embedded Systems

[UMLEmb]
T Technical Teaching


Abstract

  • This course tackles the development of an embedded system, from its requirements defined by a client until its implementation.
  • This development includes a requirement analysis phase, a system design phase, a simulation phase before its implementation. UML (Unified Modeling Language) is gaining a wide importance and acceptance in the industry as a graphical language for supporting development cycles.
  • Thus, this course studies the use of UML for analysis and design of real-time embedded systems. More specifically, it focuses on how to model and then validate constraints specific to those systems, and more particularly real-time constraints such as deadlines.

Description

  • Key points about modeling
  • Fundamentals on modeling: what is modeling, why use modeling, and how.
  • System analysis with UML 2.0
  • Presentation of use case diagrams and sequence diagrams with temporal extensions.
  • System design with UML 2.0
  • Introduction to class diagrams, composite structure diagrams and state machines diagrams, in the context of real-time systems. Then, presentation of simulation and automatic code generation techniques related to those diagrams.
  • Analysis, design and simulation phases are experimented with a UML toolkit over an industrial case study.
Nb hours: 21.00

Ecole d'ingénieur et centre de recherche en télécommunications

UML pour les systèmes embarqués

[UMLEmb]
T Enseignement Technique


Résumé

  • L'objectif de ce cours est de présenter la réalisation d'un système embarqué, depuis son cahier des charges défini par le client jusqu'à son implémentation.
  • Cette réalisation passe par des phases d'analyse du cahier des charges, de conception du système, de simulation, avant son implémentation. Le langage UML (Unified Modeling Language) s'impose depuis déjà des années, auprès des acteurs industriels, comme langage graphique support à ces cycles de développement.
  • Ainsi, l'objectif est de montrer les atouts de ce langage pour l'analyse des systèmes et leur conception. Nous montrerons notamment comment il est possible de modéliser les contraintes spécifiques des systèmes embarqués temps-réel, et notamment comment les contraintes temps-réel telles que les échéances de temps peuvent être modélisées puis validées.

Description

  • Principe de la modélisation
  • Présentation des principes de modélisation : qu'est-ce que modéliser, pourquoi modéliser, et comment.
  • Analyse d'un système avec UML 2.0
  • Présentation notamment des diagrammes de cas d'utilisation et des diagrammes de séquences temporisés (scénarios).
  • Conception d'un système avec UML 2.0
  • Présentation des diagrammes de classes, de structure composite (ou diagramme d'architecture) et de machines à états dans le cadre d'applications temps-réel. Nous montrerons de plus les principes de simulation et de génération automatique de code qui accompagnent ces diagrammes.
  • Les principes d'analyse, de conception et de simulation seront traités sur un atelier logiciel UML sur une étude de cas industrielle.
Nombre d'heures: 21.00