Graduate School and Research Center in Digital Sciences
 

System and Network Security

[SysSec]
T Technical Teaching


Abstract

This course provides an introduction to practical security concepts. The goal is to understand common attacks and countermeasures in a range of topics. The course is practice oriented, it describes real attacks and countermeasures. Students will practice attacks on a dedicated server (similar to a Capture the Flag competition).

Teaching and Learning Methods :Weekly class. Some guest lectures. Homework are online challenges, on a number of topics related to the class. A first lab is organized during lecture time to bootstrap challenges.

Course Policies :Class attendance is not checked but generally required to succeed.

Bibliography

There are no books covering all topics. Some resources can be found on the public page of the course:

http://www.s3.eurecom.fr/~aurel/teaching.html

Requirements

It is recommended to have basic knowledge in:

OS, NETW_I, Comparch

It is still possible to follow Syssec course if this is not the case as required concepts will be reminded .

Description

Internet security has become part of everyday life where security problems impact practical aspects of our lives. Even though there is a considerable corpus of knowledge about tools and techniques to protect networks, information about what are the actual vulnerabilities and how they are exploited is often not well understood. The course aims to make the students gain a basic understanding about real world security issues and countermeasures. Another of the goals of this course is to teach students to think as an attacker. This state of mind is a requirement for performing security audits and very useful to design secure systems and avoid common pitfalls.The course introduces the students to all the basic concepts of system security in the areas of host, network, and web security. The class has a very practical spin. A number of challenge-like homework assignment are used to force the student to practice on the low level aspects of the concept presented during the lectures. Therefore, prior experience in basic programming (C) as well as knowledge of basic concepts in operating systems and networks is recommended.

The following topics are introduced in this course:

  • Windows and Unix Security Basics
  • Race Conditions
  • Memory Corruption, Exploitation and Modern Countermeasures
  • Trusted Computing
  • Web Security
  • Wireless Security
  • Network Security
  • Testing for Security
  • Malware
  • Embedded systems security
  • Every year there are guest lectures on selected topics.

All above topics will be mostly covered at a high level (possibly covered in more details in other courses). A particular focus is put on exploitation of memory vulnerabilities well as on web security.   

Learning outcome: 

Students will have a overall understanding of security problems in systems and the basic countermeasures. They will be able to perform a range of attacks (code injection, etc).

Students should be able to understand a Vulnerability, how to read a security advisory, and how to handle them to either attack systems or defend against attacks.

Nb hours : 42

Grading Policy :

Solving challenges counts for 20 to 25 % of the grade.

Final written exam covering all the topics from the lectures.

Additional points for extra participation in class (e.g., 10 minutes presentation on a related topic/mini project).

Nb hours: 42.00
Nb hours per week: 3.00

Ecole d'ingénieur et centre de recherche en Sciences du numérique
 

Sécurité Système & Réseaux

[SysSec]
T Enseignement Technique


Résumé

Ce cours fournit une introduction a la sécurité des systèmes avec une approche pratique. Le but du cours est de comprendre les attaques classiques les contremesures sur un large échantillon de sujets. Le cours est orienté vers la pratique il décrit des attaques et contremesures réelles. Les étudiants doivent implémenter les attaques sur un serveur dédié (approche similaire aux jeux de « Capture de Drapeau»)

Enseignement et méthodes d’apprentissage :Cours mensuel, des cours invités. Le travail personnel consiste en la résolution de challenges de sécurité sur un certain nombre de sujets étudiés en cours.  Un premier TP est encadré en salle (le reste de challenges est a résoudre sur le temps personnel).

Règles du cours :La présence en cours n’est pas contrôlée mais nécessaire pour réussir (les slides mis à disposition ne contiennent pas toutes les explications et peu d’ouvrages existent qui couvrent tous les sujets).

Bibliographie

Il n’y a pas d’ouvrage qui traite de tous les sujets. Des ressources peuvent être trouvées sur la page du cours :

http://www.s3.eurecom.fr/~aurel/teaching.html

Préalable Requis

Il est recommandé d'avoir des notions de bases en: 

OS, NETW_I, Comparch

Si cela n'est pas le cas iI est néanmoins possible de suivre le cours SysSec car un rappel des concepts nécessaires sera effectué.

Description

L'aspect sécuritaire sur Internet fait aujourd'hui pleinement parti de notre quotidien puisqu'il impacte sur nombre d'aspects pratiques de nos vies. Bien que nous ayons à notre disposition un panel considérable d'outils et de techniques pour protéger nos réseaux, nous n'identifions pas immédiatement nos faiblesses et la façon dont elles sont exploitées. Ce cours a pour but de sensibiliser les étudiants aux problèmes de sécurité communément rencontrés sur les systèmes réels. Un des buts de ce cours est d'apprendre aux étudiants à penser comme un attaquant, cela les aidera par la suite a la conception de systèmes sécurisés et à éviter les erreurs classiques.Ce cours introduisant les concepts de sécurité à travers l'étude des vulnérabilités existant dans les systèmes informatiques, les réseaux d'ordinateurs et les applications web. C'est un cours à caractère expérimental où les étudiants seront amenés à mettre en œuvre des attaques et développer des contremesures pratiques. Une expérience en programmation de base (C) et une connaissance des concepts de base en réseaux et systèmes d'exploitation est recommandé.

Les thèmes suivants sont abordés dans ce cours :

·Sécurité de Windows et Unix

·Race Conditions

·Corruption Mémoire, Exploitation et Contre-mesures Modernes

·Trusted Computing

·Sécurité Web

·Sécurité des réseaux sans fils

·Sécurité Réseaux

·Le Test en Sécurité

·Sécurité des Smartphones

·Introduction au Malware

·Des cours invités sur des sujets du cours

Ces différends sujets sont introduits, et les attaques  et contremesures majeures sont présentées. Les sujets de sécurité web et de corruption mémoire sont un peu plus approfondis.

Résultats d’apprentissage :

Avoir une compréhension générale des vulnérabilités dans les systèmes et des contremesures basiques. Être capable de mettre en pratique un certain nombre d’attaques (injection de code, etc).

Être capable de comprendre une vulnérabilité, de lire une alerte de sécurité et être capable d’exploiter la vulnérabilité ou de mettre en place les mesures nécessaires pour protéger les systèmes.

Nb heures :42

Évaluation:

Challenges en ligne (20 à 25% des points)

Examen Ecrit

Points supplémentaires pour participation en classe (mini projets, exposés)

Nombre d'heures: 42.00
Nombre d'heures par semaine: 3.00