Graduate School and Research Center in Digital Sciences
 

Foundations of Statistical Inference

[STATS]
T Technical Teaching


Abstract

Statistics is a foundation of many areas of science and engineering that involve `` data.’’ This course focuses on fundamental concepts in statistical inference that are necessary for applying statistical methods in practice and that form the basis of other fields such as machine learning.

Teaching and Learning Methods:  Students learn by lectures, exercises, and computer experiments.

Course Policies:  The valid usage of statistical methods requires a mathematical understanding of the underlying mechanism. As such, the course covers both mathematical and algorithmic aspects of statistics.  

Bibliography

  1. B. Efron and T. Hastie, “Computer Age Statistical Inference: Algorithms, Evidence and Data Science”, Cambridge University Press, 2016.  The textbook is freely available at the authors’ website: https://web.stanford.edu/~hastie/CASI/index.html
  2. J. O. Berger, ``Statistical Decision Theory and Bayesian Analysis’’, Springer, 1985.

Requirements

The language of statistics is probability theory. As such, the course requires basic knowledge of probabilities in finite discrete outcomes, that of calculus (such as differentiation and integration), and that of linear algebra (such as eigenvectors and eigenvalues of a matrix, and the solution of linear equations). 

Description

The course focuses on fundamental concepts in statistics, using the simplest examples such as estimation of the mean from a finite sample and linear regression. It covers both frequentist and Bayesian approaches. The former includes statistical hypothesis testing and maximum likelihood estimation. The latter includes the notion of prior and posterior distributions and Bayes' rule. I will explain how these two approaches differ in interpreting the `` data'' and `` model'', and in defining ``optimal'' decisions. I will also teach Monte Carlo methods, a key ingredient in both approaches. 

Learning outcomes:  Students will learn fundamental notions of statistics and the way of statistical thinking. These include: 1) Conclusions and decisions that can be made from data are highly dependent on how the data are obtained. The key concepts in this regard are selection bias and consistency. 2) There are various trade-offs in statistical methods, notably those between i) bias, ii) variance and iii) computation. This knowledge is necessary in practice, as it is required for the selection of a method and a model, and hyper-parameter tuning. The key concepts here include the generalization error, cross-validation, regularization and the curse of dimensionality.

Nb hours: 21 hours

Nb hours per week: 1,5 hours

Grading Policy:  Exam and report.

Ecole d'ingénieur et centre de recherche en Sciences du numérique
 

Fondements de l'inférence statistique

[STATS]
T Enseignement Technique


Résumé

La statistique est le fondement de nombreux domaines de la science et de l'ingénierie qui impliquent des `` données ''. Ce cours se concentre sur les concepts fondamentaux de l'inférence statistique qui sont nécessaires pour appliquer les méthodes statistiques dans la pratique et qui constituent la base d'autres domaines tels que l'apprentissage automatique.

Enseignement et méthodes d’apprentissage : Les étudiants apprennent par des conférences, des exercices et des expériences informatiques.

Règles du cours : L'utilisation valide des méthodes statistiques nécessite une compréhension mathématique du mécanisme sous-jacent. En tant que tel, le cours couvre à la fois les aspects mathématiques et algorithmiques des statistiques.

Bibliographie

  1. B. Efron and T. Hastie, “Computer Age Statistical Inference: Algorithms, Evidence and Data Science”, Cambridge University Press, 2016.  The textbook is freely available at the authors’ website: https://web.stanford.edu/~hastie/CASI/index.html
  2. J. O. Berger, ``Statistical Decision Theory and Bayesian Analysis’’, Springer, 1985.

Préalable Requis

Le langage des statistiques est la théorie des probabilités. En tant que tel, le cours nécessite une connaissance de base des probabilités dans les résultats discrets finis, celle du calcul (comme la différenciation et l'intégration), et celle de l'algèbre linéaire (comme les vecteurs propres et les valeurs propres d'une matrice, et la solution d'équations linéaires).

Description

Le cours se concentre sur les concepts fondamentaux de la statistique, en utilisant les exemples les plus simples tels que l'estimation de la moyenne à partir d'un échantillon fini et la régression linéaire. Il couvre à la fois les approches fréquentistes et bayésiennes. Le premier comprend des tests d'hypothèses statistiques et une estimation du maximum de vraisemblance. Cette dernière inclut la notion de distributions postérieures antérieures et la règle de Bayes. J'expliquerai en quoi ces deux approches diffèrent dans l'interprétation des `` données '' et du `` modèle '', et dans la définition des décisions `` optimales ''. J'enseignerai également les méthodes de Monte Carlo, un ingrédient clé des deux approches.

Résultats d’apprentissage : Les élèves apprendront les notions fondamentales de la statistique et le mode de pensée statistique. Ceux-ci comprennent: 1) Les conclusions et les décisions qui peuvent être prises à partir des données dépendent fortement de la façon dont les données sont obtenues. Les concepts clés à cet égard sont le biais de sélection et la cohérence. 2) Il existe différents compromis dans les méthodes statistiques, notamment entre i) biais, ii) variance et iii) calcul. Cette connaissance est nécessaire dans la pratique, car elle est nécessaire pour la sélection d'une méthode et d'un modèle, et le réglage d'hyper-paramètre. Les concepts clés ici incluent l'erreur de généralisation, la validation croisée, la régularisation et la malédiction de la dimensionnalité

Nb heures : 21 heures

Nb heures par semaine : 1,5 heures

Evaluation: Examen et rapport.