Graduate School and Research Center in Digital Sciences
 

Responsible Digital Innovation: Risks, Ethics and Technology

[RDI]
G General Teaching


Abstract

This course is an introduction to responsible innovation (RI), notably in the digital domain. It provides conceptual and empirical bases for students to approach technology and innovation by focusing on the issues they raise in terms of ethics and risks for human health and the environment. These issues will be addressed from a sociological perspective based on a multilevel analysis of stakeholders' action. Students will learn the key concepts of the RI field (eg sustainability, acceptability, anticipation, participation) as well as some technology assessment methods, that will be useful to better understand the contemporary challenges and controversies of the digital era. The seven sessions of the course will be structured around a permanent dialogue between researchers and practitioners of innovation. They will will cover a range of case studies including human exposure to EMF, smart meters for energy transition, e-waste and digital identity.

Teaching and Learning Methods: The course is organized as a workshop where the sessions will be held by social scientists and innovation practitioners from outside the academic field (industry, consulting). It is based on a participative pedagogy, requiring the active involvement of students, both in class (discussions, presentations, tutorials, MCQ) and at home (readings, web research, writing). A collective research work of knowledge formalization will be required throughout the course and presented at the end of the course.

Course Policies: On-time class attendance is mandatory and will be recorded at each session. Each not excused absence will reduce the final grade by three points. If you are more than 15 minutes late, you will be counted absent. After three absences, even if excused, you will have to pass a final exam.

Bibliography

Van den Hoven et al., ResponsibleInnovation 1, Springer, 2014. D'autres lectures seront proposées pendant le cours.

Requirements

NO

Description

Whether in mobile phone, wireless networks, personal activity on the web, or energy transition, technological advances brought useful and unimagined new functionality. We know by now that many of these innovations also raise major issues in terms of sustainability, safety and security, health and well-being, privacy and accountability. A plurality of innovation stakeholders-regulators, industrial actors, scientists and civil society actors-share these concerns and develop actions to deal with them.

This course is an introduction to responsible innovation addressing it as an interactive process by which societal actors and innovators become mutually responsive to each other with a view to the (ethical) acceptability, sustainability and societal desirability of the innovation process and its marketable products (Von Schomberg, 2011).It provides conceptual and empirical bases for students to develop a socio-technical approach of digital technologies and innovation focused on the issues they raise in terms of ethics and risks for humans and the environment. These issues will be addressed from a sociological perspective based on a multilevel analysis of stakeholders' action. Four main socio-technical issues will be addressed: radiofrequencies and health, smart grids/smart metering and energy transition, personal data and ethics, e-waste and eco-design. On the side of action, we will cross levels of analysis and methods of investigation in order to deal with: (1) the macro level of public debates and major technical controversies related to the development of digital technologies; (2) the meso level of organizations, covering companies concerned with social acceptability of their innovations and regulators of new technologies; (3) the micro level of citizen engagement into the innovation process.   

Learning outcome: The course will provide key concepts of the field (eg sustainability, acceptability, anticipation, public participation) and empirical bases (technology assessment methods) that students can use in their future professional practices, as well as in their private and civic life, as social beings. Students will be able to: (1) develop a critical approach of digital innovation in the era of risk society and reflexivity; (2) systematically combine technical, economic, political and sociological perspectives to address the interrelationship of Technology, Environment and Society; (3) have a better understanding of the public opposition to some controversial technologies.

Nb hours: 21

Nb hours per week:3

Grading Policy: No final exam but continuous assessment (MCQ, reading notes) + research project.

Nb hours: 21.00
Nb hours per week: 3.00
Control form: No final exam but continuous assessment (MCQ, reading notes) + research project

Ecole d'ingénieur et centre de recherche en Sciences du numérique
 

Innovation Numérique Responsable : Risques, Ethique et Technologie

[RDI]
G Enseignement général


Résumé

 Ce cours est une introduction à l'innovation responsable (IR), notamment dans le domaine du numérique. Il fournit aux étudiants les bases conceptuelles et empiriques pour aborder la technologie et l'innovation en se concentrant sur les problèmes qu'elles soulèvent en termes d'éthique et de risques pour la santé humaine et l'environnement. Ces questions seront abordées d'un point de vue sociologique sur la base d'une analyse multidimensionnelle de l'action des parties prenantes. Les étudiants apprendront les concepts clés du champ de l'IR (durabilité, acceptabilité, anticipation, participation) ainsi que des méthodes d'évaluation de la technologie, utiles pour mieux comprendre les défis et les controverses contemporains de l'ère numérique. Les sept sessions du cours seront structurées autour d'un dialogue permanent entre chercheurs et praticiens de l'innovation. Elles couvriront une série de cas d'étude, notamment ceux de l'exposition humaine aux CEM, des compteurs intelligents pour la transition énergétique, des déchets électroniques et de l'identité numérique.

Enseignement et méthodes d'apprentissage : Le cours est organisé sous le format du séminaire. Ses sept sessions seront structurées autour d'un dialogue entre chercheurs en sciences sociales et praticiens de l'innovation, extérieurs au champ universitaire (industriels, consultants). Il repose sur une pédagogie participative, fondée sur l'implication active des étudiants, tant en classe (discussions, présentations, travaux dirigés, QCM) qu'au domicile (lectures, recherches sur le Web, écriture). Un travail collectif de recherche sera exigé tout au long du cours et présenté en conclusion pour la formalisation des connaissances.

Règles du cours : La participation aux cours, à temps, est obligatoire et sera relevée à chaque session. Toute absence non justifiée réduira la note finale de trois points. Un retard de plus de 15 minutes sera compté comme une absence. Après trois absences, même justifiées, la passation d'un examen final sera exigée pour valider le cours.

Bibliographie

Van den Hoven et al., ResponsibleInnovation 1, Springer, 2014. D'autres lectures seront proposées pendant le cours.

Préalable Requis

NON

Description

Qu'il s'agisse de la téléphonie mobile, des réseaux sans fil, de l'activité personnelle sur le Web ou de la transition énergétique, les avancées technologiques ont apporté de nouvelles fonctionnalités utiles et inimaginables. Nous savons néanmoins que nombre de ces innovations soulèvent également des problèmes majeurs en termes de durabilité, de sécurité, de santé et de bien-être, de protection de la vie privée et de responsabilité. Une pluralité de parties prenantes de l'innovation -régulateurs, industriels, scientifiques et acteurs de la société civile -partagent ces préoccupations et développent des actions pour y faire face.

Ce cours est une introduction à l'innovation responsable, en tant que processus interactif par lequel les acteurs de la société et les innovateurs deviennent mutuellement responsables dans la perspective de l'acceptabilité (éthique), de la durabilité et de la désirabilité du processus d'innovation et de ses produits (Von Schomberg, 2011). Il fournit aux étudiants les bases conceptuelles et empiriques pour développer une approche socio-technique des technologies numériques et de l'innovation axée sur les questions soulevées en termes d'éthique et de risques pour l'homme et l'environnement. Ces questions seront abordées d'un point de vue sociologique sur la base d'une analyse multidimensionnelle de l'action des parties prenantes. Quatre grands problèmes sociotechniques seront abordés: radiofréquences et santé, réseaux/compteurs intelligents et transition énergétique, données personnelles et éthique, déchets électroniques et éco-conception. Du côté de l'action, nous allons croiser niveaux d'analyse et méthodes d'investigation afin de traiter : (1) le niveau macro des débats publics et des grandes controverses techniques liées au développement des technologies numériques; (2) le niveau meso des organisations, couvrant les entreprises soucieuses de l'acceptabilité de leurs innovations et les régulateurs des nouvelles technologies; (3) le niveau micro de l'engagement des citoyens dans le processus d'innovation.

Résultats d'apprentissage : Au terme de ce cours, les étudiants auront acquis les concepts clés du domaine (durabilité, acceptabilité, anticipation, participation du public) et des bases empiriques (méthodes d'évaluation technologique) qu'ils pourront utiliser dans leurs futures pratiques professionnelles, ainsi que dans leur vie privée et civique, en tant qu'êtres sociaux. Ils seront en mesure de: (1) développer une approche critique de l'innovation numérique à l'ère de la société du risque et de la réflexivité; (2) combiner systématiquement les perspectives technique, économique, politique et sociologique pour traiter les interrelations entre la technologie, l'environnement et la société; (3) avoir une meilleure compréhension de l'opposition du public à l'égard de certaines technologies controversées.

Nb heures : 21

Nb heures par semaine : 3

Evaluation: Pas d'examen final mais contrôle continu des connaissances (QCM, notes de lecture) + projet de recherche.

Nombre d'heures: 21.00
Nombre d'heures par semaine: 3.00
Forme du contrôle: No final exam but continuous assessment (MCQ, reading notes) + research project