Graduate School and Research Center In communication systems

Infrastructure Planning

[PlanIFR]
T Technical Teaching


Abstract

  • Intelligent transport systems require wireless communication infrastructure to provide the required connectivity to users and vehicles. Such connectivity is based on heterogeneous access technologies (LTE, WLAN, IEEE 802.11p) and on inter-vehicular communication or vehicular-to-infrastructure communication over single or multiple hops.
  • One key component remains to have a sufficient radio coverage provided by communication infrastructures, in particular for ITS applications requiring a global and/or large-scale connectivity, or to leverage the initial low penetration of the ITS communication technologies. Normal radio coverage may be typically provided by a cellular network, although one particularity of wireless networks for ITS is that a full and continuous coverage is neither required nor optimal, as a large majority of ITS applications are based on geo-localized services. Radio coverage, and as such, the deployment of communication infrastructure should be adapted to ITS applications requirements, and to the radio coverage and vehicular mobility contexts, with the aim of a joint user/operator satisfaction. An optimal distribution of communication infrastructure is indeed expected to play a critical role in the success of ITS applications.
  • The objective of this course is therefore to learn innovative methods and algorithms to optimize radio coverage for ITS (the user satisfaction) on the one hand, and on the other hand, to optimally dimension the size of the required communication infrastructure (the operator satisfaction) by minimizing them but distributing them in key locations with respects to ITS applications.

Ecole d'ingénieur et centre de recherche en télécommunications

Planification des Infrastructures

[PlanIFR]
T Enseignement Technique


Résumé

  • Les systèmes de transport intelligent sont basés sur une architecture de communication sans fil dont le rôle est de fournir une connectivité aux utilisateurs et véhicules basée sur des technologies d’accès hétérogènes (LTE, WLAN, 802.11p) et sur des schémas de communications V2V ou V2I en simple ou multi-saut.
  • Un composant crucial reste une couverture suffisante fournie par une infrastructure de communication, notamment pour les applications nécessitant une connectivité globale, ou afin de palier à une faible pénétration de communications dédiées inter-véhiculaires. Une telle couverture peut être fournie par un réseau cellulaire, mais la particularité des réseaux sans fil pour les STI est qu’une couverture continue n’est ni forcément nécessaire ni optimale, la majorité des applications STI étant basés sur des services géo-localisés. La couverture, et donc le déploiement, d’infrastructures radio doit être adapté aux besoins des applications STI et en fonction de la mobilité et de la connectivité véhiculaire, dont le but est de satisfaire à la fois l’utilisateur et l’opérateur. Un placement d’infrastructure de communication judicieux participera au succès des applications STI.
  • L’objectif de ce cours est donc d’étudier les méthodes disponibles afin d’optimiser la couverture radio d’une part, et d’autre part afin de placer des infrastructures relai aux endroits judicieux par rapport aux applications STI.