Graduate School and Research Center in Digital Sciences

Network Modeling

[NetMod]
T Technical Teaching


Abstract

The goal of this course is to teach student how to model, analyze, and optimize the performance of different Networks using simple theoretical tools. The end goal is to highlight the common underlying properties, develop a strong high-level insight on the network parameters affecting network performance, and understand how to optimize a networked system. 

Each class will be a mix of some necessary theoretical tools, and their application to real-world networks. We will consider examples from modern cellular networks (e.g., offloading and load balancing), capacity planning, MAC protocols, scheduling in computing clouds and web server farms, security (e.g. virus infections), measuring large social networks like Facebook and Twitter, search engines (e.g. Google's PageRank algorithm), and many others. 

Teaching and Learning Methods :Lectures, Homework, and Programming Labs (2)

Bibliography

Some research articles from the web, and selected chapters from:

"Performance Modeling and Design of Computer Systems" by Mor-Harchol-Balter,

"Networks, Crowds, and Markets: Reasoning About a Highly Connected World" by D. Easley and T. Kleinberg,

Requirements

 Basic knowledge of Probabilities, and very basic programming skills (any language)

Description

Markov Chains with Applications:Markov chains are one of the simplest and most applied analytical tool to model a very large range of networks and networking problems. We will introduce discrete-time and continuous-time Markov chains and discuss their application to solve problem like web search engines, MAC protocol performance, and mobility modeling.

Queueing theory and Scheduling:We will use Markov chains to analyze simple queueing models for systems with single and many servers, and then discuss how to optimally schedule computing jobs, or communication traffic, using a range of examples from web server farms and cloud computing, mobile network planning, traffic offloading, cognitive networks, etc.

Social and Complex Networks: Some of the most interesting systems in today's cyber-world are large networks with complex structure and dynamics. Some examples are the Internet, online social networks (e.g. Facebook, Twitter), peer-to-peer networks (e.g. Skype, BitTorrent), etc. We will introduce some key random graph models and properties, such as Poisson graphs, scale-free graphs, small-world graphs, preferential attachment, community structure etc., and learn how to model and understand processes and dynamics like searching such networks, measuring them, how rumors or malware spreads over these networks, etc.

Applications and Use Cases from Real Systems: Most of the above topics will be presented along with some important applications drawn from areas like, Internet measurement, searching in peer-to-peer (P2P) networks, sampling of social networks, etc.  The class will include homework sets to practice the material learned, and two programming labs. One lab will using datasets from real networks, and in-class group problem solving. 

Learning outcomes:

Be able to abstract and understand a large networked system, and make predictions about its performance.

Be able to identify performance bottlenecks  for a large range of networking problems, a valuable skill for any manager or consultant.

Understand the basic underlying principle behind some of the most important networks and systems around us, such as Cloud Computing, Server Farms, Internet Search Engines, Cellular Networks, Social Networks, Viral Information Dissemination, etc.

Nb hours :42.00 

Grading Policy :Midterm (30%), Final (50%), Homeworks and Labs (20%), Participation (extra credit)

Nb hours: 42.00
Nb hours per week: 3.00

Ecole d'ingénieur et centre de recherche en Sciences du numérique

La modélisation des réseaux à grande échelle

[NetMod]
T Enseignement Technique


Résumé

 Le but de ce cours est d'enseigner aux étudiants comment modéliser, analyser et optimiser les performances des différents réseaux en utilisant des outils théoriques simples. L'objectif final est de mettre en évidence les propriétés sous-jacentes communes, développer une solide connaissance de haut niveau sur les paramètres réseau affectant les performances du réseau, et de comprendre comment optimiser un système en réseau.

Chaque classe sera un mélange d'outils théoriques nécessaires, et leur application aux réseaux du monde réel. Nous allons examiner des exemples de réseaux cellulaires modernes, la planification des capacités, des protocoles MAC, « Cloud Computing » et « Web Server Farms », la sécurité des réseaux, (par exemple, les infections virales), réseaux sociaux comme Facebook et Twitter, les moteurs de recherche (algorithme de Google, par exemple PageRank), et bien d'autres.

Enseignement et Méthodes d'apprentissage:  cours, devoirs et labs de programmation.

Bibliographie

Bibliographie : Articles de recherche sur le web, et les chapitres sélectionnés à partir de:

"Performance Modeling and Design of Computer Systems" by Mor-Harchol-Balter,

"Networks, Crowds, and Markets: Reasoning About a Highly Connected World" by D. Easley and T. Kleinberg,

Préalable Requis

Connaissance de base des probabilités, et les compétences de programmation très simples (toutes les langues)

Description

Chaînes de Markov avec Applications : Les chaînes de Markov sont l'un des outils d'analyse le plus appliqué pour modéliser une très large gamme de réseaux et de problèmes de réseau. Nous allons introduire les chaînes de Markov à temps discret et à temps continu et  discuter leur application pour résoudre le problème comme les moteurs de recherche sur le Web, les performances du protocole MAC et la modélisation de la mobilité.

Queueing théorie et planification : Nous allons utiliser les chaînes de Markov pour analyser des modèles de files d'attente simples pour les systèmes avec un ou plusieurs serveurs puis discuter de la façon de planifier de façon optimale du calcul des emplois, ou le trafic de communication, en utilisant une série d'exemples « Web server farms » et « Cloud Computing », la planification de réseau mobile, les réseaux cognitifs, etc.

Réseaux sociaux et complexes : Certains des systèmes les plus intéressants dans le cyber-monde d'aujourd'hui sont de grands réseaux avec une structure et une dynamique complexe. Quelques exemples sont l'Internet, les réseaux sociaux en ligne (par exemple Facebook, Twitter), les réseaux peer-to-peer (par exemple Skype, BitTorrent), etc. Nous allons présenter quelques modèles et les propriétés des graphes aléatoires clés, tels que les graphiques de Poisson, sans échelles graphiques, graphiques à échelle réduite, attachement préférentiel, la structure des communautés, etc., et apprendre comment modéliser et comprendre les processus et les dynamiques tels que la recherche de tels réseaux, les mesurer, comment les rumeurs ou les logiciels malveillants se propage sur ces réseaux, etc.

Applications et Systèmes Réels : La plupart des sujets ci-dessus seront présentés ainsi que quelques applications importantes tirées de domaines tels que, la mesure de l'Internet, la recherche en peer-to-peer (P2P), l'échantillonnage des réseaux sociaux, etc. La classe comprendra devoirs met à pratiquer le matériel appris, et deux laboratoires de programmation. Un laboratoire sera en utilisant des ensembles de données à partir de réseaux réels, et le problème de groupe en classe de résolution.

 Résultats d'apprentissage

- Être capable de comprendre un grand système en réseau, et de faire des prédictions sur sa performance.

- Être capable d'identifier le cause principal de mal performance pour une large gamme de problèmes de réseau, une compétence précieuse pour tout manager ou consultant.

- Comprendre le principe sous-jacent de base derrière certains des réseaux les plus importants et les systèmes autour de nous, comme le Cloud Computing, les batteries de serveurs, moteurs de recherche Internet, les réseaux cellulaires, réseaux sociaux, Viral Diffusion de l'information, etc.

Nb heures: 42.00 

Evaluation : Midterm (30%), Final (50%), Devoirs et Labs (20%), Participation (+5%)

Nombre d'heures: 42.00
Nombre d'heures par semaine: 3.00