Graduate School and Research Center in Digital Sciences

Sustainable ICT's

[GreenIT]
G General Teaching


Abstract

 This course is an introduction to sustainable development and responsible innovation, particularly in the digital domain. It provides conceptual and empirical bases for students to approach technology and innovation in their interconnections with environmental, social and political factors. Students will learn the key concepts of the field (eg sustainability, acceptability, Triple Bottom line, life cycle approach, energy efficiency) and apply them to ICTs focusing on Green-IT. Topics covered in class include: smart grids & smart metering, big data analytics, energy consumption of digital activities, product eco-design, economy of functionality.

Teaching and Learning Methods: The course is organized as a work-shop where the sessions will be held alternately by social scientists and lecturers from outside the academic field (industry, consulting, public policies). It is based on a participative pedagogy, requiring the active involvement of students, both in class (discussions, MCQ, practical work) and at home (readings, research on the Web, writing). A personal written work of knowledge formalization will be required at the end of the course.

Course coordinator: Laura Draetta (Télécom ParisTech). Guest lecturers: Alain Anglade (ADEME), Gérald Gaglio (Université Nice), Etienne Lees-Perasso (Bureau Veritas),  Filip Gluszak (GridPocket), Athanase Vafeas (Technofi),  Sébastien Roca (WIT), Bastien Tavner (Télécom ParisTech).

Course Policies :Class attendance is mandatory and recorded at each session.

Bibliography

There is no textbook for this course. Relevant materials will be provided during the course.

Requirements

NO

Description

 Be in transport, building, energy, work, what engineers design and managers decide is closely linked to their daily experience of society and the environment. Sustainable development and responsible innovation are currently a strategic issue for many companies. In the specific field of ICTs, Green-IT plays an important role in the preservation of the environment and the energy management, increasingly impacted by the transformation of human and industrial activities. This course is an introduction to sustainable development and responsible innovation, particularly in the digital domain. It provides conceptual and empirical bases for students to approach innovation in its non-technical dimensions and technologies in their interconnection with environmental, social and political factors.

Students will learn the key concepts of the field (eg sustainability, acceptability, Triple Bottom line, life cycle approach, eco-design, Green-IT/IT for Green, energy efficiency), they will approach industrial environmentalism through methods (eco-design, energy project business modeling, economy of functionality) and will have an overview of the main topics at the heart of Green-IT (smart grids / smart metering, big data analytics, energy consumption of digital activities, etc.).

The course consists of 8 teaching units and two film screenings. Questions they will address include: How do ecological/social issues become public issues? What relationship between ICTs and climate change? Can we believe in Green-IT? Why and how to implement eco-design?

Learning outcome:  At the end of this course students will have acquired reading keys and general knowledge about sustainable development and responsible innovation that they will be able to mobilize in their future professional practices, but also at a personal and civic level. The aim is twofold: (1) to provide students conceptual and empirical bases for approaching digital innovation in the era of ecological and energy transition; (2) to develop a perspective on the relationship Technology-Environment-Society that is not naive.

Nb hours : 21

Grading Policy: No final exam but knowledge tests (MCQ) or classwork at each session (50%) + project (50%).

Nb hours: 21.00
Nb hours per week: 3.00
Control form: continuous assessment - ENGLISH

Ecole d'ingénieur et centre de recherche en Sciences du numérique

Développement durable des TIC

[GreenIT]
G Enseignement général


Résumé

Ce cours est une introduction au développement durable et à l’innovation responsable, notamment dans le domaine du numérique. Il fournit des bases conceptuelles et empiriques pour approcher les interconnexions de la technologie et de l’innovation avec des facteurs environnementaux, sociaux et politiques. Les étudiants apprendront les concepts-clé du domaine (par ex. durabilité, acceptabilité, Triple Bottom line, approche cycle de vie, efficacité énergétique) et les appliqueront aux TIC en se focalisant sur le Green-IT. Les sujets traités en classe comprendrons : smart grids et smart metering, big data analytics, consommation énergétique des activités numériques, éco-conception de produit, économie de la fonctionnalité...

Enseignement et méthodes d’apprentissage : Le cours est organisé en séminaire où les séances seront tenues alternativement par des chercheurs en sciences sociales et des experts du domaine, externes au monde académique (industrie, consulting, politiques publiques). Il se fonde sur une pédagogie participative, exigeant l’implication active des étudiants, aussi bien en classe (discussions, QCM, travaux pratiques) que chez eux (lectures, recherches sur le Web, rédaction). La réalisation d’un travail personnel écrit de formalisation des connaissances acquises pendant le cours, sera exigée.

Règles du cours : La présence en cours est obligatoire et relevée à chaque séance. 

Bibliographie

Il n'y a pas de manuel pour ce cours. Des textes pertinents seront indiqués pendant le cours.

Préalable Requis

Non

Description


 Que cela soit dans les domaines du transport, du bâtiment, de l’énergie, du travail…, ce que les ingénieurs conçoivent et les managers décident est étroitement lié à leur expérience quotidienne de la société et de l’environnement. Le développement durable et l’innovation responsable sont aujourd’hui un enjeu stratégique pour nombre d’entreprises. Dans le domaine spécifique des TIC, les Green-IT jouent un rôle important dans la préservation de l’environnement et la maîtrise de l’énergie, de plus en plus impactées par la transformation des activités humaines et industrielles. Ce cours est une introduction au développement durable et à l’innovation responsable, notamment dans le domaine du numérique. Il fournit des bases conceptuelles et empiriques pour approcher l’innovation dans ses dimensions non-techniques et la technologie dans ses interconnexions avec des facteurs environnementaux, sociaux et politiques. 

Les étudiants apprendront les concepts-clé du domaine (par ex. durabilité, acceptabilité, Triple Bottom line, approche cycle de vie, éco-conception, Green-IT vs IT for Green, efficacité énergétique), ils approcheront l’environnementalisme industriel par des méthodes (éco-conception, business modeling de projet énergétique, économie de la fonctionnalité) et auront une vision d’ensemble des principaux sujets au coeur du Green-IT (smart grids/smart metering, big data analytics, consommation énergétique des activités numériques, …).

Le cours comprend 8 sessions d’enseignement et 2 visions de film structurées autour de 4 interrogations : Comment des questions écologiques/sociales deviennent des problèmes publics ? Quelles relations entre TIC et changement climatique ? Peut-on croire au Green-IT ? Pourquoi/comment implémenter l’éco-design ?

Résultats d’apprentissage : A la fin de ce cours les élèves auront acquis des clés de lecture ainsi que des connaissances générales sur le développement durable et l’innovation responsable qu’ils seront en mesure de mobiliser dans leurs pratiques professionnelles futures, mais également sur le plan personnel et citoyen. L’objectif est de fournir aux élèves des bases conceptuelles et empiriques pour penser l’innovation numérique à l’ère de la transition écologique et énergétique, tout en leur amenant à développer une perspective qui ne soit pas naïve de la relation Technologie-Environnement-Société.

Nb heures : 21

Evaluation: Pas d’examen final maisQCM ou TP à chaque séance (50%) + projet (50%). 

Nombre d'heures: 21.00
Nombre d'heures par semaine: 3.00
Forme du contrôle: continuous assessment - ENGLISH