Graduate School and Research Center in Digital Sciences

Deep Learning

[DeepLearning]
T Technical Teaching


Abstract

Deep Learning is a new approach in Machine Learning which allows to build models that have shown superior performance fora wide range of applications, in particular Computer Vision and Natural Language Processing. Thanks to the joint availability of large data corpus and affordable processing power, Deep Learning has revived the old field  of Artificial Neural Networks and provoked the "Renaissance" of AI (Artificial Intelligence). The objective of this course is to provide an overview of the field of Deep Learning, starting from simple Neural Network architectures and pursuing with contemporary and state of the art practices and models. The course is organized as a combination of  lectures where the theory is exposed and discussed, and hands-on sessions (labs) where experimentations are performed to practice with the theoretical concepts.

Teaching and Learning Methods : The course is composed of a combination of lectures and labs.

Course Policies : Attendance to all sessions is mandatory.

Bibliography

Ian Goodfellow, Yoshua Bengio, and Aaron Courville (2016). Deep Learning. MIT Press.

Deng, L.; Yu, D. (2014). "Deep Learning: Methods and Applications". Foundations and Trends in Signal Processing. 7 (3-4): 1-199. doi:10.1561/2000000039.

Bengio, Yoshua; LeCun, Yann; Hinton, Geoffrey (2015). "Deep Learning". Nature. 521: 436-444. doi:10.1038/nature14539

Requirements

Basic knowledge in Data Science

Description

The course is intended to expose students with the recent developments in the field of Deep Artificial Neural Networks (DANN). It will start with a brief reminder about the theory of Neural Networks and then move on to present the evolution of DANN introduced in the recent years.

The study will  start with the Multilayer Feed Forward (Multilayer Perceptron) architecture and the famous "Back Propagation" algorithms along with its various parameters and variants as they provide the basis for most recent advances. Then the course will explore the specific problems of Deep Networks, and some of the solutions that have been proposed to overcome them, such as Drop-out and Rectified Linear Unit (ReLU). This will include unsupervised approach using auto-encoders. Then it will describe specific architectures involved in Deep Networks, such as Convolutional Neural Networks (CNNs) for image processing, Residual Networks which allow very deep networks, Recurrent Neural Networks (RNN) for language modeling and Long Short Term Memory (LSTM) for learning long-term dependencies. The course will present and detail the specific techniques which are involved in their applications, such as transfer learning and fine tuning for CNNs, backpropagation through time, together with the issues which appear in their implementation and practical usage.

Throughout the course, applications of the various network topologies are discussed in order to illustrate their usage. The labs will use some of the standard development environments for DNN, such as Caffe and Tensorflow.

Learning outcomes:

-      be able to understand the key fundamentals associated with Deep Learning and Deep Network architectures for Machine Learning.

-      be able to define, train and use a Deep Neural Network.

Grading Policy:: Labs and written exam. 

Nb hours: 21.00
Nb hours per week: 3.00

Ecole d'ingénieur et centre de recherche en Sciences du numérique

Apprentissage profond

[DeepLearning]
T Enseignement Technique


Résumé

L' apprentissage profond (Deep Learning) est une nouvelle approche de l'apprentissage automatique qui permet de construire des modèles qui ont montré des performances supérieures pour un large éventail d'applications, en particulier la vision par ordinateur et le traitement du langage naturel. Grâce à la disponibilité conjointe de grands corpus de données et d'une puissance de traitement abordable, l'apprentissage profond a relancé l'ancien domaine des réseaux de neurones artificiels et provoqué la «Renaissance» de l'intelligence artificielle (IA). L'objectif de ce cours est de fournir un aperçu approfondi du domaine de l'apprentissage profond, en commençant par les architectures de réseaux de neurones simples et en poursuivant avec les pratiques contemporaines et les modèles de l'état de l'art. Le cours est organisé en une combinaison de cours où la théorie est exposée et discutée, et des sessions pratiques (laboratoires) où les expérimentations sont effectuées pour mettre en pratique les concepts théoriques.

Enseignement et méthodes d'apprentissage :

Règles du cours :  La présence à tous les cours est obligatoires.

Bibliographie

Ian Goodfellow, Yoshua Bengio, and Aaron Courville (2016). Deep Learning. MIT Press.

Deng, L.; Yu, D. (2014). "Deep Learning: Methods and Applications". Foundations and Trends in Signal Processing. 7 (3-4): 1-199. doi:10.1561/2000000039.

Bengio, Yoshua; LeCun, Yann; Hinton, Geoffrey (2015). "Deep Learning". Nature. 521: 436-444. doi:10.1038/nature14539

Préalable Requis

Connaissance de base en Data Science

Description

Le cours vise à exposer les étudiants aux développements récents dans le domaine des Réseaux de Neurones Artificiels Profonds (Deep Artificial Neural Networks - DANN). Il commencera par un bref rappel sur la théorie des réseaux de neurones et passera ensuite à la présentation de l'évolution des DANN introduits ces dernières années.

L'étude débutera avec l'architecture perceptron multicouche (Multilayer Perceptron) et le célèbre algorithmes de retro-propagation ainsi que ses divers paramètres et variantes car ils constituent la base des avancées les plus récentes. Ensuite, le cours explorera les problèmes spécifiques aux réseaux profonds, et quelques-unes des solutions proposées pour les surmonter, telles que l'élagage (drop-Out) et les ReLU (Unité linéaire rectifiée). Cela comprend aussi une approche non supervisée utilisant des auto-encodeurs. Ensuite les architectures spécifiques impliquées dans les réseaux profonds, comme les réseaux de neurones convolutifs (Convolutional Neural Networks - CNN) pour le traitement d'images, les réseaux résiduels qui permettent des réseaux très profonds, les réseaux de neurones récurrents (Recurrent Neural Networks - RNN) pour la modélisation du langage et les réseaux avec mémoire à long-court terme (Long Short Term Memory - LSTM) pour l'apprentissage de dépendance à long terme, seront décrites. Le cours présentera et détaillera les techniques spécifiques impliquées dans leurs applications, telles que l'apprentissage par transfert et le raffinement des réseaux profonds, la rétro-propagation à travers le temps, ainsi que les questions qui apparaissent dans leur mise en oeuvre et leur utilisation pratique.

Tout au long du cours, les applications des différentes topologies de réseau sont discutées afin d'illustrer leur utilisation. Certains des environnements de développement pour l'apprentissage profond, tels que Caffe et Tensorflow, seront utilisés pour les sessions de travaux pratiques.

Résultats d'apprentissage :

-      connaitre les problèmes clefs actuels dans le domaine des réseaux de neurones et de l'apprentissage profonds.

-      maitriser les différentes étapes relatives à la définition, l'apprentissage et l'utilisation des réseaux de neurones profonds.

Evaluation :Travaux pratiques, et examen écrit.

Nombre d'heures: 21.00
Nombre d'heures par semaine: 3.00