Graduate School and Research Center In communication systems

Distributed software and middleware

[DSMWare]
T Technical Teaching


Abstract

  • Middleware consists of the software and services on which a network application programmer relies that are provided on top of the network layer. The knowledge of distributed software design and the appropriate use of middleware are recognized as part of the software engineering culture in the industry, especially for Internet applications.
  • The goal of this course is to provide a broad overview of engineering techniques for the development of distributed software based on classical bare socket programming and on today's state-of-the-art middleware.
  • The course first describes how distributed software can be modularly designed using object-oriented techniques and design patterns. Object-oriented middleware platforms like CORBA, Java RMI, and EJB are then thoroughly described. Mobile code platforms, which provide a new form of middleware, are also introduced. Services and interfaces required for the deployment of these platforms are finally addressed.
  • The course will be accompanied by some significant design and programming labs.

Bibliography

Description

  • Object-Oriented Software Development : Software life cycle, object-oriented design, unified modelling language notations and diagrams,  software architecture and design patterns.
  • Client-Server Software : Socket based networking, Communication and client-server patterns reactor, active object, acceptor-connector. Multithreading and clientserver concurrency models.
  • Distributed Objects : CORBA : Interface Definition Language, Inter-ORB Protocol architecture, ORB and server implementation. Java RMI (remote Method Invocation) : registry, comparison and interoperability with CORBA. EJB (Enterprise Java Beans) : 3-tiered applications, transaction processing, component model and servers.
  • Mobile Objects : Mobile code, agent platforms.
  • Middleware Services and Interfaces : Naming and trading services : LDAP, JNDI. Security services and interfaces : CORBA, RMI. Communication models : event-driven communication, XML formats.
Nb hours: 42.00
Nb hours per week: 3.00
Control form: examen écrit

Ecole d'ingénieur et centre de recherche en télécommunications

Logiciel et intergiciel distribués

[DSMWare]
T Enseignement Technique


Résumé

  • Les intergiciels réseau sont les codes et services sur lesquels un programmeur d'applications s'appuie mais qui sont fournis au-dessus de la couche réseau. La connaissance des techniques de conception de logiciels distribués et l'utilisation appropriée des intergiciels réseau sont reconnus comme faisant partie de la culture de l'ingénieur par l'industrie, tout spécialement pour les applications Internet.
  • Le but de ce cours est de former aux différentes techniques de développement de logiciels distribués en partant de la programmation socket classique jusqu'aux intergiciels en vigueur aujourd'hui.
  • Le cours s'intéresse d'abord à la manière de concevoir un logiciel distribué de manière modulaire à l'aide de techniques à objets et de schémas de conception. Les plates-formes d'intergiciel objet comme CORBA Java RMI et les EJB sont largement étudiées. L'utilisation des codes mobiles qui fournissent une nouvelle forme d'intergiciel est ensuite abordée. Les services et interfaces logicielles nécessaires au déploiement des plates-formes distribuées sont finalement étudiés.
  • Le cours sera accompagné de travaux pratiques de codage et de conception logicielle.

Bibliographie

Description

  • Développement Logiciel Objet : Cycle de vie logiciel, conception objet, notations et diagrammes UML, architectures logicielles et schémas de conception.
  • Logiciel Client-Serveur Programmation réseau à base de sockets, Communication et schémas client-serveur : réacteur, objet actif, accepteur-connecteur, Multithreading et modèles de concurrence client-serveur.
  • Objets distribués : CORBA : Interface Definition Language, architecture Inter-ORBn ORB et implémentation d’un serveur. Java RMI (Remote Method Invocation) : registry comparaison et interopérabilité avec CORBA. EJB (Enterprise Java Beans) : applications 3-tiers, gestion de transactions, modèle de composants et serveurs
  • Objets Mobiles : Code mobile, plates-formes, agents
  • Services Intergiciels et Interfaces Logicielles : Service de nommage et de trading : LDAP, JNDI Services et interfaces de sécurité : CORBA, RMI Modèles de communication par événements, formats XML
Nombre d'heures: 42.00
Nombre d'heures par semaine: 3.00
Forme du contrôle: examen écrit