Graduate School and Research Center in Digital Sciences
 

Computational Methods for digital communications

[CompMeth]
T Technical Teaching


Abstract

Computational methods in digital communications provides a selection of hands-on experiments in programming and implementation techniques for high-performance computing applied to telecommunications. Students will learn architecture concepts and how to optimize software to implement different types of algorithms efficiently on software-based systems.

Teaching methods: The course is primarily given in a lab setting leveraging guided personal work. The instructor gives some lecture material progressively during the course of the lab-sessions in an on-demand fashion. The mini-project teamwork includes regular 45 minutes review meetings with the instructor and teaching assistants to overview progress on the subject.

Grading: 50% final mini-project work and presentation, 50% grading of lab sessions.

Description

Learning outcomes: The students obtain basic understanding of some numerical programming methods and a more detailed understanding of one topic considered in their mini-project. They also will learn to work in a team-environment on the mini-project and to synthesize their understanding through a presentation to their peers at the end of the course.

1. The first exercise familiarizes the students with programming or designing an implementation with fixed-point processing and in particular dealing with the degradation of an algorithm due to the effects of finite wordlength and saturated arithmetic. The students analyze the fast Fourier transform for two fixed-point arithmetic configurations using a C-language testbench. One configuration is representative of a digital signal processor while the other of the arithmetic logic units found in a typical field-programmable gate array (FPGA).

2. The second exercise covers optimization techniques using single-instruction multiple-data (SIMD) parallelization extensions in

x86-64 or ARM architectures. The students implement a simple componentwise vector multiplication for long vectors and experiment with optimization techniques to achieve the maximum performance of the architecture. The exercise highlights methods to analyze the runtime performance of a software implementation. Moreover, students will learn how to inspect the choices of a compiler in order to fine-tune its optimization strategy and ultimately improve the performance of the final result

3. The mini-projects allow the students to form groups to study a particular larger problem through a team-effort. Regular meetings with the instructor and teaching assistants are organized to guide the students and analyze their progress. Subjects vary from year-to-year but can include

a) real-time signal acquisition and processing.

b) GPU-based implementations

c) parallel computing on a modern container-based multi-server switching fabric

d) real-time performance analysis

e) SIMD acceleration on embedded ARM computers

Nb hours: 42 hours, 36 hours of lab sessions.

Grading Policy: 50% final mini-project work and presentation, 50% grading of lab sessions.

 

 

Nb hours: 42.00
Nb hours per week: 3.00
Control form: examen écrit

Ecole d'ingénieur et centre de recherche en Sciences du numérique
 

Méthodes de calcul pour les Communications Numériques

[CompMeth]
T Enseignement Technique


Résumé

On traite une sélection d'expériences en laboratoire sur les techniques de programmation et implémentation pour le calcul haute performance dans les systèmes de intercommunications. Les étudiants apprendront des concepts architecturales et méthodes d'optimisation d'un logiciel dans le but d'implémenter un algorithme de façon efficace.

Débouchés pédagogiques: Les étudiants obtiendront des connaissances de certaines méthodes génériques de programmation numérique et une connaissance plus approfondie sur un sujet traité dans le contexte d'un mini-projet. Ils apprendront aussi de travailler en équipe et de synthétiser leur compréhension à travers une présentation a la fin du cours devant tout les étudiants.

Méthodes d'enseignement et d'apprentissage: Cours et laboratoires

Règles du cours: La participation aux séances de laboratoire et au réunions de mini-projet est obligatoire.

Description

Méthodes d'enseignement et d'apprentissage: Cours et laboratoires

1. Lors du premier exercise, les étudiants verront la programmation ou conception d'une implémentation avec l'arithmétique en virgule fixe. En particulier, on traite la gestion de la dégradation du fonctionnement d'un algorithme due à la résolution finie dans la représentation des variables et l'arithmétique avec saturation. Les étudiants analyseront la transformée de Fourier rapide avec deux configurations arithmétiques a travers un banc de test en langage C. Une configuration est représentative d'un processeur de signal numérique (DSP) et l'autre des portes logiques d'un circuit intégré prédiffusé programmable (FPGA).

2. Le deuxième exercice couvre des techniques d'optimisation utilisant les extensions de parallélisation numérique "single-instruction multiple-data" (SIMD) de l'architecture x86-64 ou ARM. Les étudiants implémenteront un multiplication vectorielle par composant pour des vecteurs longs et expérimenteront avec les techniques d'optimisation afin d'atteindre la performance maximale pour l'architecture choisie.

L'exercice montre les méthodes pour analyser la performance temporelle d'une implémentation logicielle. De plus, les étudiants apprendront les façons d'inspecter les choix d'un compilateur afin de peaufiner sa stratégie d'optimisation et finalement d'améliorer la performance du résultat final.

3. Les mini-projets permettront aux étudiants de former des groupes afin d'étudier un problème plus complexe à travers un effort d'équipe. Des réunions régulières seront organisées avec l'instructeur et des assistants afin de guider les étudiants et d'analyser le progrès de l'équipe. Les sujets varient d'année en année mais peuvent inclure

a) acquisition et traitement temps-réel

b) Implementations avec GPU

c) calcul parallèle sur un réseau d'interconnexions très haut-débit et serveurs configurer avec des containeurs.

d) analyse de performance temps-reel

e) accélération SIMD sur processeur ARM embarqué

Nb heures: 42 heures, 36 heures dédiées aux travaux pratiques.

Evaluation: 50% résultats et présentation du mini-projet, 50% rapport et performance lors de travaux pratiques.

 

Nombre d'heures: 42.00
Nombre d'heures par semaine: 3.00
Forme du contrôle: examen écrit