Graduate School and Research Center In communication systems

Chanel coding theory

[Coding]
T Technical Teaching


Abstract

  • In today's communications world channel coding underlies the physical layer of all major communication systems. For example: algebraic block coding (Reed-Solomon codes) are used in the CD and DVD standards, convolutional codes are widely used in wireless systems such as GSM,IS-95 and LANs (IEEE 802.11), trellis coded modulation is used in line modems and low-density parity check codes (LDPC) will be used to combat packet losses in future internet content distribution networks.
  • This course provides an introductory but thorough background in modern coding theory and covers both classical coding theory (block and convolutional codes), coding for bandlimited channels (Coded Modulation) and the modern theory of randomlike codes with iterative decoding (LDPCs, Turbo Codes).

Bibliography

Requirements

DigiCom

Description

  • Idealized channel models : the binary symetric channel (BSC), the binary erasure channel (BEC), the constrained-input Gaussian Channel. • Block coding for BSC Linear codes, cyclic codes, decoding algorithms, weight enumerators and bounds on codes
  • Binary convolutional codes : the algebraic structure, the dynamic structure, Viterbi decoding, weight enumerating function.
  • Binary random-like codes : Low-Density Parity-Check codes and message-passing decoding, threshold behaviour of message passing decoding: density evolution analysis, other families of randomlike codes : Repeat- Accumulate codes, Turbo Codes
  • Efficient decoding of Repeat-Accumulate and Turbo Codes : the forward-backward algorithm
  • Coded Modulation : trellis coded modulation, multilevel coded modulation, bitinterleaved coded modulation
Nb hours: 42.00
Nb hours per week: 3.00
Prepare course: MobCom
Control form: examen écrit

Ecole d'ingénieur et centre de recherche en télécommunications

Théorie du codage de canal

[Coding]
T Enseignement Technique


Résumé

  • Le codage de canal joue un rôle fondamental dans tous les systèmes de communications modernes. Par exemple : le codage algébrique en bloc (Codes de Reed-Solomon) est utilisé dans les standards CD et DVD, les codages convolutionnels sont utilisés largement dans les systèmes de communications sans fil comme le GSM, IS-95 et WLANs (IEEE 802.11), les modulations codées en treillis sont utilisées dans les modems sur lignes téléphoniques, et les codes Low-Density Parity-Check (LDPC) seront utilisés pour récupérer les pertes de paquets dans les réseaux de distribution du contenu sur l'Internet du futur.
  • Ce cours donne une vision introductoire mais assez détaillée de la théorie moderne du codage de canal et couvre soit la théorie classique, (codage en bloc et convolutionnel), soit les modulations codées pour les canaux limités en bande passante, soit la théorie moderne des codes pseudo-aléatoires avec décodage itératif (LDPCs, Turbo Codes).

Bibliographie

Préalable Requis

DigiCom

Description

  • Modèles de canaux : Canal binaire symétrique (BSC), canal binaire avec effacements (BEC, canal Gaussien avec entrées discrètes
  • Codage en bloc pour le BSC : Codes linéaires, codes cycliques, algorithmes de décodage algébriques, énumérateurs des poids, bornes sur la distance minimale
  • Codage convolutionnel binaire : la structure algébrique, la structure dynamique, le décodage de Viterbi, fonctions énumérateurs des poids
  • Codes pseudo-aléatoires binaires : LDPC et le décodage itératif « message passing », le seuil de décodage itératif, analyse avec évolution de la densité, autres familles de codes : les codes Turbo et les codes Repeat-Accumulate
  • Décodage des codes turbo : l’algorithme MAP à sorties souples
  • Modulations codées : modulations codées en treillis, modulations codées multi-niveaux, modulations codées avec entrelacement de bits.
Nombre d'heures: 42.00
Nombre d'heures par semaine: 3.00
Prepare au cours: MobCom
Forme du contrôle: examen écrit